Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ranger College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only a three man security team. Also, smoking is not allowed on campus at all as it is a tobacco free campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know if Phi Thetta Kappa can be called Greek Life but they have that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs are just the sport or activity you are on scholarship for.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual or weird things on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Really great bang for the buck especially since most students are on scholarship. However, it is a really cheap school.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun on campus. They just redid the Student Activities Center and it is really really nice. Also, there is a gym too. Almost every week there is an activity for the students to partake in.

    Food and Dining

    For a small school the food and dining is actually really good. 5/5 stars if you really like chicken and mashed potatoes. They do have many options for students to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't bad but isn't great. The school is old and some portions of the dorms could be improved.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't hard as long as you attend and do the work. The final exams are the only part of the academic rigor that can be really challenging in my opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly don't expect your classes to be too easy or too hard. Also, come expecting everyone to know you or know about you shortly after attending.

    In three sentences

    Ranger College is a very very small school, and everyone here is on scholarship of some kind. It is a great school to come and get an associates or basics out of the way. The class sizes are small so you get a ton of one on one attention, and most of the professors have their doctorate degrees.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Best wishes and don't give up.

    In three sentences

    5 star. I thought the faculty seemed very nice.

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. The professors are there for a reason.

    In three sentences

    Ranger College is a great school to bring up your college gpa, because the teachers there are very willing to help you. The intensity of the classes are the same, but with small class sizes it is easy to connect with your professor.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well we really dont have that much to do on campus maybe if we get more fundings for our recreation center we can afford more games and fun activities instwad of us having to go off campus everytime to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better if we had morw options to choose from instead of the same thing each week its very predictable.

    Dorm Life

    It could be more clean and a little more sanitary with less creatures invading.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very challenging it gives us a chance to expand our brains and help us learn more things that we probabky didnt learn in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever need to know something you can always ask a current upperclass student and if you need farther understanding you can go to the admin. Building as well as the library and they can direct you to the right spots.

    In three sentences

    Ranger College is a Home enviornment you fit right in as soon as you hit the campus everyone is friendly and willing to help you out.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports to join in

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that perform better in a smaller setting, more personal.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same education for a less money.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of school activity

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Lots of veriety. Staff is very great

    Dorm Life

    Nice and simple. Not to big or too small. Clean

    Academic Rigor

    Normal. If you need tutoruing they can provide it. Teacher are very easy to get ahold of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small is better, more one on one help.

    In three sentences

    Ranger College fits my needs, its a great small school. Everyone that works there is nice and friendly. They are always willing to help and if they can't assist they find someone that can.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good pricing!!!

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of school athletic event going on or lake Leon which is 8 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are not bad, but nothing to write home about.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life tends to run to the boring side, much like the typical home life of a teen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Smiles often!

    In three sentences

    Ranger is a great school, especially for us small town kids. It gave me the opportunity to experience many different nationalities, without being overwhelmed by the number of students. Another plus was the low student/teacher ratio.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ranger College has three security guards that roam around the campus checking up on students and making sure that the students are doing what they are supposed to do and that they are where they need to be. Campus safety is very important, and ever since Ranger College has put together the security system, the college has been a much safer place. And when it feels safer, then it's more comfortable.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a small town person and enjoy being laid back and having the time to focus on your education, then Ranger College is definetly a college to look at. And even if you aren't a small town person, and your from a big city, Ranger College still helps you feel comfortable and at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One, I'm assuming they considered it a tradition, that I was apart of last year was a college cleanup day. Students gathered and spent a whole day cleaning around campus. What I thought was awesome about this was that students not only cleaned up around campus, but they carpooled and went all over the town to help clean up the community. We picked up trash, moved things the community wanted moved, and just did whatever we were asked to.

    What to do for fun

    Ranger College has a building on campus, within walking distance from the dorms, that offers entertainment for students. There, students can relax and watch TV, play x box, play pool, and I'm sure other things as well. Also, the practice soccer field is open for players to practice and the track is open to athletes who want to better themselves. As for rodeo, they mostly go to the rodeo grounds.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are good and comfortable. They offer many options for food, and they have a rather large area for students to eat. In the area, they have a television for entertainment during breakfast, lunch, and dinner, which is nice. The staff, again, are very nice and welcoming.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very homey. They have members of the staff that keep the dorms nice and clean on a regular basis. Also, they are located directly in the middle of campus, within walking distance to all classes. It's very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academics are strict. In my biology class I struggled, but with the supportive staff and faculty members, I pulled through the class with a passing grade. The academics are pretty strict, but you do learn what needs to be learned, and with the help of the teacher, it's possible to get the grade desired.

    In three sentences

    Ranger has a staff that is very helpful with students getting their education. If a student is struggling, the staff is there to help guide them down the right path. They are very helpful and supporting to students.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We play washers, basketball, fishing, hunting. Anything that comes up.

    Food and Dining

    They have real good food. Most of it is home made.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best of dorms but it is better than nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    It's real easy. Just need to do the work and you will pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're in a sport, then get ready to work because they don't play around in Ranger College.

    In three sentences

    Ranger College isn't really the best college but its good to go there for your basics. There real good about sports because this school is based on sports. Overall it is a okay school.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    cross country running

    Food and Dining

    great food

    Dorm Life

    a very clean places

    Academic Rigor

    great to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    students are very friendly and respectful

    In three sentences

    ranger college is a very good school to learn Ranger college is a great to year program where you can take your basics

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am part of Lvn program.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home while I attend.

    Dorm Life

    .I live at home while attending.

    Academic Rigor

    They are highly rated and have great reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask lots of questions,turn all documents asap

    In three sentences

    This college understands the importance of your education.They are as serious about me accomplishing my goals as I am.all the staff are very courteous informative,and encouraging.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depends there is so many different kinds of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont need alot of things becasue its in the middle of now where

    In three sentences

    Good for learning because of small class rooms. Also athletic program is good for getting to the next level. Another one is good for staying out of trouble.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SPEND TIME WITH MY KIDS

    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO A COUNCELLER

    In three sentences

    THEY ARE ALWAYS HELPFUL. THEY TAKE TIME FOR YOU. THEY SIT AND TALK WITH YOU

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    none that im aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students involved in sports and students who work alot. also, great for single moms like myself, with the flexible class schedules ranging from early morning to night.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are much cheaper than bigger community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    alot of sports activities.

    Food and Dining

    i dont know anything about the living and dining services.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    good class selection. teachers are very helpful. also, plenty of tutoring and help from student services.

    Tips for prospective students

    i highly reccomend ranger college for students just starting college. this is a smaller school so it allows classes to be cheaper and class size to be much smaller.

    In three sentences

    ranger college has been very helpful and consistant. the staff has made me feel like im not just a student number. also, the small class size helps with one on one help from teachers.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students looking to make a name for their self in sports, as they have open try-outs for all sports. It's also good for kids wanting to stay out of trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ranger is a good place to get started at, and you will be able to get ahead on your grades. Don't expect to have the time of your life, because the town is slowly shrinking but its a settle setting.

    Bang for the buck

    It's hard to find a job out in Ranger, the good thing about it is that its very cheap and can be paid off in the future when you take in student loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being there, except on weekends there isn't anything to do and they seem to drag on.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning plenty and I could learn a lot more if I were to put more time into it, but I put in enough to get good grades.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    Ranger College is a great place to get all of your core classes out of the way before transferring to a four year university. It is very easy and there are extremely small classes so you get to know your teacher on a personal level. There are also a lot of athletics to participate in. Some of the negative are that is is a small town with nothing to do and there are not very many people.