Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern University at New Orleans Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/12/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is divided into two parts, main campus and lake campus.

    In three sentences

    SUNO is a pretty decent school. It might be small but you get your work done. The school holds a lot of activities so you don't get tired or bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just delicious. All different types of food to pick. Some days, they'll have different cultural food(s).

    Greek Life

    Greeks have their own week of activities or current day(s). For example: Greek life.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to SUNO, you must stay focus on your classes. If you stay focus, you can play later.

    What to do for fun

    There's the homecoming week, festivals, small and big djs, the homecoming ball, pj party,volleyball and basketball games...the list just goes on

  • 04/26/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i love suno because my brother go here and he looked at after me here when people talk about me i just wanted to tell me haters that you talk about me if you want to but you can get put out of school for that

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For out of staters, the city of downtown New Orleans would be filled of fun. The night life of Bourbon Street, casinos, and the French Quarters will fill your void. The different festivals and events throughout the year is great.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is about average. Nothing special about the cafe. Off campus restaurants are typical fast food chains.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very poor. Ever since Hurricane Katrina, the dorm life has been poor. Most students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically some professors will push you and some will not. The classes are no walk in the park. The level of education you will get from here is average.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students would be to come here only if it is convenient. The campus life is poor. It would be best to commute to this school.

    In three sentences

    I would rate SUNO as a just below average school. The affects of Katrina still haunts this university, as buildings are still not operational and campus life is dead. Their is no campus life here.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUNO's Chief of Police and staff are well trained, and on duty at all hours.

    Greek Life

    Our Greeks are all about community service. They are involved in a lot of outreach activities. Of course there are parties, too!

    What to do for fun

    Many socialize in the Cafe'. We also attend the parties sponsored by our student government.

    Food and Dining

    I personally believe that we have the greatest chefs. FISH FRIDAY RULES!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are AMAZING!

    Academic Rigor

    Our teachers express genuine concern and make learning easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn, and look forward to stepping out of your comfort zone. People are willing to help, but you have to be willing to ask.

    In three sentences

    SUNO is very close-knit. Everyone gets along. The people are culturally diverse.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You should always call 911, but you can reach the campus police at 504-286-5290

    Greek Life

    Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Alpha Phi Omega Service Fraternity American Criminal Justice Association (Lambda Alpha Epsilon) Beta Beta Beta National Biological Honor Society Beta Kappa Chi National Scientific Honor Society Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Phi Beta Lambda (Future Business Leaders of America) Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. Phi Delta Kappa International (Education) Psi Chi National Honor Society in Psychology Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spanish Club Student Government Association Students for the Prevention and Education of Substance Abuse (SPESA) Students of Social Work SUNO Campus Ministry VETS Club Volunteer Community Service Club Writerâ??s Wing Political Science Club Royal Jewels Dance Team Men of Social Work National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) National Conference of Artists Disabled Students Organization Education Club First Fifty Knights French Club Golden Knights (Cheerleading Squad) Honda Campus All-Star Challenge Team Cold Poets Society Communication Club

    Great for these types of students

    Student Support Services offers a wide range of services that will help students with vision/hearing screening, tutoring, financial aid seminars, peer mentoring and etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll have to come and check us out!!

    Bang for the buck

    You can receive an education at any school if you put your mind to and apply yourself. Also you should apply for scholarship and grants. Free money is the best money, who want loans.

    What to do for fun

    Eating Craw-fish at Lake Pontchartrain with friends, and also doing things you love to do.

    Food and Dining

    Cajun Cuisine and Seafood.

    Dorm Life

    Great for students who would like to live on the college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Social Work

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get all necessary documents turned in to the correct departments for school on time. And you always remain focus on your studies.

    In three sentences

    Southern University at New Orleans is an amazing school that will educated students to their fullest potential. It is also a great school that have a variety of organizations that you can involve yourself in. Southern University is also an Historically Black College also known as HBCU.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southern University has sororities and fraternities as well as various clubs students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average but not bad. There is a dining hall on campus where students can get breakfast, lunch, and dinner while at school.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms on campus so I am unsure about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes and teachers at Southern University have prepared me thus far for when I graduate and enter the working world.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definetely research different areas you may be interested in going to school for before applying.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a wonderful school to attend. Faculty and staff have the best interest of students at heart and do everything they can to ensure that each student gets a quality education while attending Southern University. Students are also very welcoming and down-to-earth which makes for an enjoyable learning experience.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment!

    Great for these types of students

    International students, African American students. I think, the school is good for every students of all races. I love SUNO

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the best affordable school in the south with quality education. Don't let the ranking deceive you. The school was not given the rank they deserved. The college of business and public administration was accredited by AACSB.

    Academic Rigor

    They will teach you like a child.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus and study hard! Be willing to share your problems with your professor or advisor

    In three sentences

    I think Southern University at New Orleans offers great education at affordable price. The school has small classroom that make it easy for teacher to know you by name. The professors are willing to help you to succeed in your studies. I will rate the school 95%.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go out at the clubs we have out here. they are really fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car, be careful in the city, and be open to new things because new orleans food and atmosphere is very different.

    In three sentences

    SUNO is very small but fun. Athletics are awesome, especially volleyball and basketball. Greek life is small but present.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a member of the Math Club.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. SUNO has a very good science department. The students of SUNO are very accommodating.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Two years in a row our campus has been rated number 1 in campus security. Our officers drive around the campuses and they are visible when the campus is near closing.

    Greek Life

    Southern Univesity at New Orlens is comprised of a diverse group of fraternities and sororities. We're given a rating of B.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, School of Social Work, Variety of Sororities, the National Black MBA

    Great for these types of students

    High School Graduates and Returning Students (students that have been out for years). Students who don't believe that they are college material.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions because we are all aware that each culture has it's own tradition. There's one thing we do though, in the month of October on every Thursday we wear black in observance of battered women.

    Bang for the buck

    It's walkable. It's nearby a popular grocery store. It's near the lake too just in case you want to chill with some Nawlin's hot boiled craw fish or fiery boiled shrimp. Southern University at New Orleans is also affordable!

    What to do for fun

    There's a game room with a pool table and game machines and there are many activities too such has the sororities and cheerleader, which are also fun. Organizing on campus is fun too. Running for Student Council too.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great catering company. Sometimes it tastes just like momma's. The prices are also reasonable and the dining hall is clean and we have a jukebox too.

    Dorm Life

    Students love it and students maintain it along with faculty and staff. It's home to many locally and internationaly.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Southern University at New Orleans a 5 star. It's competive yet it offers what you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southern University at New Orleans is a school of diverse leadership. There's faculty, staff and students from all walks of life and from all over the world. The faculty is awesome. They are so resourceful. Each faculty member has something different to offer, but one thing all faculty have in common is charity. They are there to give you a helping hand and holding your hand through it if they have too. Southern University at New Orleans is a great' place to earn an education.

    In three sentences

    I never thought I had a chance of attending a 4 year college, nevertheless wanting to stay. Southern University at New Orleans is a school of chance and a school where everyone succeeds and all faculty see to it that you do. There's no failure at Southern University.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard or seen fighting or heard of gun shoot. thanks to the campus police who patrol around in every minutes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don'y know any

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus

    In three sentences

    Teachers re always there to help student out no matter what time of the day. Teachers know all their students by name and this pushes the students to work hand in hand with their subject teachers. In every subject, student are given the chance to express themselves on any topic of that course in order to master the subject.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    FOR FUN YOU CAN JOIN ONE OF THE MANY ORGANIZATIONS AVAILABLE.

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY FOCUSED ON STUDIES AND YOU WILL SUCCEED.

    In three sentences

    SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY IS A GREAT COLLEGE. ADVISORS ARE AVAILIBLE FOR HELP WHEN NEEDED. TEACHERS ASSIST WHEN HELP IS NEEDED.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I will have my first class on tomorrow. So far I am very excited about attending

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what you want in life just go for it. If you put your mind to it you can achieve anything. To be a successful person you have to take the risk. Anything is possible if it is possible. Go for what you want DO NOT settle for less. It's your life not anybody else you shouldn't let people over rule you.

    Bang for the buck

    There is plenty of money/scholarships available. You just have to find them and apply for them. Don't let it all go to waste.

    Will enjoy being here

    The location of the school sets my spirit high. I am looking forward to attend SUNO. I think I will meet sufficient intelligent students that I will get to know very well. I would like to enjoy myself must of the time ,but i don't want to get my mind off track. There is a time for everything. A time to party and a time to be your head in your books and be somebody.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan on being a very successful student at Southern University of New Orleans. I will stay ahead of the game and focus in every formally matter. I don't know this school personally, but i have faith in the school. I thin i will learn what i need and beyond. I feel that the professors at this so have a lot of wisdom and can prepare you for the future.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    EVEN THOUH I HAVEN'T BEEN TO THIS SCHOOL, THEY CAME TO MINE TO TALK ABOUT THEIR GREAT PROGRAMS. WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT WAS THAT THE CLASSROOMS AREN'T OVERPACKED, THE STUDENTS ARE EASILY ROECONIZED .

    Will learn a lot

    THERE ARE GREAT ACADEMIC PROGRAMS