Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Stonehill College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/03/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm definitely interested in attending Stonehill. The campus is absolutely beautiful. I'm also impressed by the Campus Ministry

  • 12/30/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on my campus at all times. Even when we do have health/safety scares, I see the community coming together to help each other in times of need, always caring for one another to make sure that everyone is okay, and that family sense in itself makes me feel very secure.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, but I feel that this adds to the community and the equality that the college stands for.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone at Stonehill: Outdoors Club, Ski Club, Theatre (Company and Musical Theatre Club), multiple choirs to choose from, Into-The-Streets (a service club), the Diversity club, different varsity and intramural sports, among so many other things. Someone would always find something that suits them here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to really excel in their education, who want to make a difference, and who want to become involved closely with their community and friends would find themselves at home at Stonehill.

    Bang for the buck

    Stonehill is definitely an expensive school, but the money that it gives back totally makes up for it. Multiple notorious magazines have designated Stonehill as one of the financially smartest schools to look into, and the opportunities and gateways that the college opens up to its students is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Easton is a pretty quaint area, but it is located very conveniently about a half hour from Boston, and it is also right near the Braintree Mall Plaza, which the Stonehill Shuttle takes you to both (for free!) around the clock! With those areas, there is no way that you could get bored! Also on campus, there is a wide variety of clubs and sports that could fit the need/passion of any student. Also, for those that like to go outside, there are two nature trails on campus itself! In walking distance from the school, there is also Daddy's Dairy (which has its own purple Stonehill sprinkles for school pride!), Bertuccis, Panera Bread, the famous Back Bay Bagels, and an Orange Leaf! There are so many things to do on campus and off that I never find myself bored.

    Food and Dining

    Stonehill's food comes through Sodexo. Sodexo does have a wide variety of options every night, from the deli to the pasta and pizza, to the main dish, to the vegetarian, to the international, to the bakery, and more. Of course, having a home-cooked meal is always preferred, but the food options that Stonehill has are always edible and most of the time delicious. The distance to walk to get the food is not that bad either, it is located pretty centrally on campus for everyone. Plus, Stonehill has Dunkins and Starbucks on campus, which is awesome for people who prefer one over the other. The meal plan is also very reasonable as well; it is a set balance of a system, so you swipe your card for the set amount of money that a meal/food costs, and you can upgrade or downgrade to a new plan based upon your needs. After the first semester, any money leftover from your card is transferred over as an addition for the next semester, so you can even splurge second semester if you really wanted to!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a good time; granted, yes you have communal bathrooms as a freshman, and the rooms are by no means what you would call a suite, but they are still roomy enough that you would have extra space left over if you kept it neat. The RAs are also awesome and plan many activities for their residents so that the community within a certain hall is able to come about. The dorms are not really too noisy and many people are very respectful of one another. Another great thing that can't be stressed enough is the sense of belonging and of community within the dorms; for an example, over Christmas time, every specific hall in my building had a contest against one another to see who could decorate their hall the best, or who could come up with the best theme. It was all in good fun, of course, but the whole building came together to decorate and to get everyone in the Christmas spirit, and it was always uplifting to come into a place that looked and felt like home.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and the professors can be quite demanding at Stonehill. The course-load does depend on each professor, but most of the courses are thought-intensive and promote a progressive philosophy within the educational methods so as to encourage students to think critically and to apply what they are learning to different areas of their lives and to the issues that the world is facing currently.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a smaller campus in which you would really be able to become involved with activities, work, studies, and service, become close with your professors and peers, and get one of the best educations in the nation, then Stonehill would be a perfect fit for you. It has so much to offer in the sense that the college really aspires within its mission to create a holistic education and development of each individual, and pushing forward a chain reaction to the world within that formation of each student.

    In three sentences

    Stonehill College is by far one of the most outstanding colleges in the nation, rated #9 in the country after the Ivy Leagues. Not only are the opportunities for employment connection, internships, and employment after you receive your degree at an exceedingly high percentage, but the professors, classes, and the methods for the holistic education of a person also go above and beyond to really create the best imaginable education for you. And besides the brilliant educational aspect that the school has to offer, Stonehill's community is so tight-knit and caring for one another that you would rarely find such an atmosphere at any other school.

  • 12/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent, although there are parties at various dorms every Friday and Saturday night.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated and willing to put in effort and work with other people, not super competitive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Madness kicks of winter/spring sports and is a giant pep rally. Usually pretty fun. There are also mixers and dances. Every year one of the dorms, the Sem, does a haunted house for Halloween. Bingo has also turned into a tradition since the prizes are all so amazing, such a beats or a GoPro.

    What to do for fun

    BINGO! There are so many clubs and things to do on campus. Outdoor adventure club, theater club, Relay for Life, SGA, etc. Theres also a shuttle to take you to the mall ( which has Dave and Buster's and Cheescake Factory) and the T.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is good at providing variety. Although many students complain that it does not agree with them well. Also I like that the meal plan is pay for what you eat, there is no swipes system. Which can make it difficult to control spending, but good for that you only pay for what you eat.

    Dorm Life

    The mixed freshman/ sophomore housing (Villa and Corr) are very nice. The others are not terrible, but the rooms are definitely smaller.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible! Stonehill gives good aid, although it is still a slightly expensive school.

    In three sentences

    The grass is definitely greener here. The sense of community is welcoming. The professors are very open and approachable.

  • 12/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are looking for close relationships with their professors and a community feel. I know it sounds clich�©, but I have never felt so supported and safe by any other community before, and I encourage others to join the Stonehill community!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Christmas time, the school puts Christmas lights all around campus and students decorate their dorm buildings!

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than many other private schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 80 clubs at Stonehill, so there are plenty of things to do. Also, the shuttle that takes students to the South Shore Plaza Mall and Quincy Adams T Stop to go to Boston are awesome!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a bad place to live!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigorous but I never felt like I was drowning. The environment doesn't feel very competitive because of the supportive community, which is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want one on one attention from professors and to feel a part of a supportive community, then Stonehill is the place for you. While you are touring the school, do not be afraid to ask other random students walking around about their Stonehill experience, they love to talk about it!

    In three sentences

    Stonehill is an incredible institution that is committed to developing students' minds and spirits. Stonehill is not just producing smart students, but creating good people. Stonehill is not just a school, but a supportive community that always has your back.

  • 09/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are so nice and willing to help anyone. Stonehill uses the blue-light system to help keep students and faculty safe. They respond with in 30 seconds of call/button push.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime, Sci-fi, Asian American, French, Mock UN, Bowling, Volleyball, soccer, habitat for humanity. You name it and I'm pretty sure Stonehill has it. There's so much to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to give back to the community and like to spread out and be active in clubs and events. Good fit for the over achiever as well as the students who like to unwind from course work with fun get-togethers and gatherings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a really weird but fun tradition that students at stonehill have. Basically, whenever our sports teams wins their champions ship, Superbowl etc, everyone jumps into the very shallow pond near the shields center. Halarious and fun!

    What to do for fun

    There's so many clubs to join, from sports to anime and student government if you're into politics and such. They have discounted movie passes, a shuttle to the mall and red-line station. You can basically do whatever you like!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining for what it's worth is pretty decent. not everything is good but it is still decent. We do have sushi which is absolutely GREAT!! It's never going to match up to home cooking but its still good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! RA's do everything in their power to make students feel like they are living among friends and family. They put on events to help with getting to know other students and faculty members during the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and the courses range from Ok to really strong and tough. However, they never reach impossible. As long as you reach out to Professors and classmates, even the hardest of classes and challenges can be overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get know the people in your classes and dorms, you never know who'll come through for you! And get the Stonehill College app! Best choice ever!

    In three sentences

    Stonehill College is and absolute joy! The students are so friendly and welcoming that its hard not to make friends. They are so driven for academic excellence while giving back to the community and there's so many fun things to do!

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most exciting night on campus is probably the Thursday before Halloween when Haunted Sem and Midnight Madness are held. During Haunted Sem, each of the residence halls are assigned a wing of the Sem to decorate and form a team of scarers to terrify fellow students and members of the surrounding community. Following that is Midnight Madness, which is the official launch to winter sports (with a strong emphasis on basketball). More than half the school comes out for Midnight Madness, and even if you don't care about sports, it is one of the craziest environments you will ever experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pretty high, but we do have a fair number of perks. Printing and laundry are both free (which you won't see as a perk until you talk to friends/siblings at other schools who spend hundreds of dollars doing both during their college careers. There are also many resources available to students - from tutoring in many classes to health services (though their competence is often brought to question, so take their opinions with a grain of salt) as well as the counseling and testing center.

    What to do for fun

    Many people get involved in intermural sports in the free time. There are also tennis courts, a beach volleyball court, and basketball courts around campus. The main quad and smaller stone quad by O'Hara are often used by students to lay out, play frisbee/catch/lacrosse/etc, or studying in the sun. Movie nights are frequently sponsored by the movie/comedy committee, trips are planned about once a month or so by trip committee, and the ever popular bingo nights are held about once a month - with some of the best prizes you have ever seen. Many clubs and organizations will hold events on the weekend and weeknight evenings to give students something to do as well.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to most college food, the food at Stonehill really isn't that bad. Is it going to be like a gourmet, home-cooked meal every time? No. But will it be acceptable the majority of the time - yeah. There are two cafeterias on campus - the main one where everyone eats is the Roche Dining Commons (known as the Commons), which contains The Hill downstairs, and the Sem cafe, which is mostly frequented by students living in the Sem and people looking for Sem brunch on the weekends (definitely worth a trek to the Sem at least once a year for brunch - yes it is that different). The Commons opens at 7 am for a la carte and 7:30 for hot food. There is a good variety in breakfast items from cereal to breakfast sandwiches and a fruit and yogurt bar to freshly baked pastries. The Commons stays open until 10 for breakfast and then you are left with a la carte again until 11:15 when lunch starts. There are generally 5 or 6 options for lunch (vegetarian, pasta, international, main line, grill, and sandwiches). Lunch remains open until 3, but I am pretty sure the last hour is just deli and not hot food. Some of the most popular lunch options are crispy chicken wraps, buffalo chicken penne, taco Tuesday, and burger mania. Dinner runs from 4:45 to 6:30 on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, and from 4:45 to 7:30 Monday-Thursday. You definitely have to plan when you go to dinner because the crowds can be insane at certain times (I'd give you pointers but it seems to vary from year to year - but the best bet is to stay away around 5:30). Dinner favorites include pastabilities, grilled cheese bar, and pancakes, however, there are many other options as well. Food is definitely better during the week than on the weekends. The Hill is very convenient on the go (if you grab something from behind the registers - not so much if you order food) - and offers mostly fast food types of meals. It is also great because it is open later at night (until 11 pm on weeknights and 1 am on the weekends) - so you can grab a coffee or snack if you are up late studying (or partying). There is also a Starbucks in the Hill (though I am pretty sure the selection is not a wide as at a regular Starbucks - and if you really want your Starbucks fix there is one like half a mile away). I would also recommend using your green to-go container constantly because not only is Stonehill trying to be more environmentally friendly, but the throw-away to-go containers cost like 30 cents apiece, which really adds up. The meal plan is not based on swipes but what you eat - the standard meal plan (C) is good for most people, however, the athletes tend to be on A or B. There is also a Dunkin Donuts in the Science Center and a Cafe in the library.

    Dorm Life

    More than 90% of students live on campus at Stonehill and none of the dorms are incredibly far away from the rest of campus (besides the Sem). Most students live in doubles, whether it is in hallway style housing (mostly freshmen and sophomores), small houses of 20-30 people (mostly juniors and seniors), or suite style living (mostly juniors and seniors). There are some rare singles and quads. The lottery system for housing is based on merit points that you earn by attending clubs during the year and individual merit point events. You start each year with 10 merit points and can earn as many as 15 (but don't get written up, otherwise you will permanently lose a merit point per infraction). The RAs are a great group of students - definitely people you can turn to if you need to talk and don't want to go to a member of the professional staff. Both the RAs and hall council frequently put on programs at night for when you are not busy doing homework, watching tv, or hanging out with friends. And on the subject of friends - definitely get to know the people you live near freshmen year - they have become my greatest friends at Stonehill and people I will definitely keep in touch with after graduating. The downsides of the dorms is that most have limited (if any) control of the temperature - so some parts of the building will be freezing while others will be boiling in the middle of the winter. There are also space problems living in a forced triple and frequently conflicts living in quads.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do your work, study, and participate in class, you will do well at Stonehill; the grades definitely tend to be on the high end of the scale (A, A-, B+) for every major. This does not mean you are guaranteed one of these grades, but if you put in the effort it is definitely possible. That being said, I have taken some incredibly challenging courses at Stonehill and have never been prouder of my grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Make sure Stonehill has the major(s) you are looking for or could potentially be interested in if you are coming in undeclared - many people change their mind and you don't want to be forced to transfer because we don't offer classes for your major (you can make your own interdisciplinary major, but you still need classes in your discipline) - This is a small school - news, rumors, and gossip spread like wildfire, so either keep your private life private or find a bigger school where this won't be such an issue - Befriend your professors - the faculty here are fantastic and many practically live on campus because they are here so early in the morning and so late at night; they love students to come ask them questions, whether it is about course content or their favorite sports team - so don't be shy!

    In three sentences

    Stonehill College provides a well-rounded, liberal arts education to students majoring in everything from English to Chemistry. You will never meet a friendlier group of students, faculty, and staff because Stonehill is such a small, close-knit community. The only downside is that admissions seems to want the school to expand; however, the number of classes offered and faculty members available to teach seem pretty stagnant, which leads to issues during course registration for underclassmen.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nada

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sledding down Donahue on lunch trays

    What to do for fun

    Mall, go into Boston

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep snacks in your room!

    In three sentences

    Friendly.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition on campus in which people hold the door open for awkward periods of time.

    What to do for fun

    You will never be bored. There are always several activities to attend and trips to make. Since it is located at a short distance from Boston and Providence, you can always find something to do, on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great variety to chose from in the Commons and there is also a Dunkin Donuts and a Starbucks in the class buildings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very comfortable. They range in luxury, but they all have something that makes you feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to be successful you must attend your classes and speak to your professors. They are always happy to help you, not just with your homework, but giving you advice about life in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    To have a good time and do your best you should get involved in all the activities, clubs and groups that you can. Not just in the ones in your comfort zone, but you should try new things.

    In three sentences

    Stonehill is a place you can call home. When you go, you are surrounded by groups of smiling people welcoming you and helping you find your way. It is a school that opens many doors for you, and in fact, people hold doors open for long, sometimes awkward, periods of time.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shuttle that runs regularly and daily that goes to a mall, Boston, and the movie theater.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great campus. The academic standard is really high. It is a great place to get a high education.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    This goes from personal experience and opinions from current students. I've been told that the food, on a daily basis, is some of the best that those students with whom I spoke on the topic had ever had. I, myself, got a chance at an open house to sample the food. Despite the deli buffet setup, the food was still spectacular and definitely some of the best I've had.

    Dorm Life

    This is also working on what I've heard from current students. My friend (the same with whom I spoke at length about classes)said that the freshman dorms are great, but a little far from everything on campus. Prepare to be doing a lot of walking!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm working purely on what I heard from a close friend that already goes here. She said that the courses are tough but not so hard that you feel like you're fighting to stay above water. She also said that you get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a close-knit, friendly community and staff, this is the place for you. Don't let the fact that it is a Catholic University fool you. I didn't feel as welcome and accepted anywhere else that I visited.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, open, and homy. I'm from a small town in the mountains and the slightly wooded campus makes me feel right at home. Also, the community and strong sense of family that I found on campus even as a visitor is something for which I was looking whole-heartedly.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police very reliable and friendly. We are there #1 concern!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from, fit around your schedule.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a pretty sweet dorm very comfortable, RA is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors like to challenge us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, everyone is very friendly!!

    In three sentences

    The Campus is beautiful, seeing the animals left and right makes me smile. Nice professors that like us to visit office hours. Professors challenge us so we can succeed.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police (Campo) make rounds every 15 minutes on foot, bike, or car. There are plenty of blue-lights around campus, though they're unnecessary. Stonehill is a gated community with watchful eyes. You're always safe!

    Greek Life

    None!

    Bang for the buck

    Stonehill is definitely an exceptional school that I genuinely love, and can't wait to go back each semester. However, it is a bit pricey, and is rising. For a student like me, though, that loves the school, I'll pay anything for Stonehill.

    What to do for fun

    Stonehill prides itself on its shuttle, which allows students without cars access to a local movie theater, Target plaza, South Shore Plaza mall (which is AMAZING! - google it!), and the T-station, where you can get about anywhere. Also available to students are Zip-cars, so you can rent a car whenever you want. But, coming from an actual student, you'll rarely use those ammenities. There's ALWAYS something to do on campus; sometimes, you're stuck with a tough decision on what to do when two activities are at the same time. Trust me, you won't be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The Sodexo food is AMAZING. Everything is cooked to order, and is fresh unlike university buffet style services. There are two dining halls and one specialty dining option, The Hill, for quicker meals and late-night snacking. There is such a variety of food, with menus posted daily online for easy access. Also, any meal can be made to go, so you're more than welcome to grab something on your way to go study!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a generous size, and aren't cluttered with furniture. You definitely have breathing room. Each dorm has its own kitchen, common room, and study room, so you'll always have a place to go. Housing applications are simple, and selecting a roommate is effortless. You are expected to do a bit of work for the better dorms; Stonehill runs on a Merit Point Program, where you must be active on campus to gain points which determine when you are allowed to choose your dorm coming housing selection time. It's Stonehill's brilliant way of making sure you get out there!

    Academic Rigor

    For a science nerd like myself, the classes I'm involved in are definitely challenging. You'll typically find me posted up at the library or science center studying. However, that's just the kind of student that I am. I take my grades seriously, and my professors recognize that. They are always available to help if necessary. Put your best foot forward with your classes, and you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit! The campus is absolutely gorgeous, and you'll really get a sense of where you'll be spending most of your time depending on your intended major. Every building is clean and modern, the dorms are a generous size, the campus activities are endless, and the impact you'll make on campus as an individual, and not just a number, is incredible.

    In three sentences

    Stonehill College is my perfect fit. I transferred mid-year from a public university, and fell right into place. The small classes, overly-nice people, and comfortable, safe atmosphere all help to make Stonehill a close-knit community.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are always things to do outside because students are always playing games such as ultimate frisbee. Stonehill College also has a Fun Fund where students can submit a proposal for something to do with friends such as go out to dinner and the school will reimburse students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be sure that they want to be a part of a small and tight knit community. I would advise any students who are planning to attend Stonehill College to definitely learn to manage their time well.

    In three sentences

    Stonehill College has a beautiful campus and provides a great atmosphere for students. The staff is extremely helpful and will always make time to meet with students who have questions. Academically, the college is very challenging, but it in the end all the hard work pays off.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police (or campo, as we like to affectionately call them) do their job well. stonehill is a relatively safe community and is not exactly a hotspot for crime but campo is always immediately accessible whenever they are needed.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life on campus; stonehill does not offer sororities or fraternities. however, if you're looking to live in an on-campus house during college, that style of housing is available for sophomores-seniors.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and activities on campus. if you want to get involved, stonehill allows you to do that. there are many activist groups on campus that are passionate about their causes.

    Great for these types of students

    to be honest, stonehill is great for anyone who considers themselves preppy. however, that label does not begin to cover the student body in the slightest. there's actually a lot of variety in the types of students that go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    beware ohara pond! many a student has jumped into it on a dare or after losing a bet. it is not worth it. we have lots of other traditions as well, like sledding down donahue hill in the winter. we also have a brand new outdoor ice skating rink on campus - it's awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    stonehill, like all private colleges, is not cheap. at times it can feel too much so. however, the atmosphere, the community, the faculty, the opportunities, and the experiences at stonehill are too good to pass up. it's worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    stonehill's small campus can feel stifling by the end of the week, but a shuttle bus offers you plenty of chances to get away. the shuttle goes to target, the movies, and the quincy adams t station, which will take you right into boston, a fantastic city.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the dining commons does get a little old after a while, but that is true of any college by the time the second semester rolls around. however, we do have the hill, which is pub style food (for example, you can get a burger and fries there).

    Dorm Life

    there's a wide variety of housing arrangements, from hall-style dorms, to trailers that accomodate eight people, to houses that twenty people live in.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be challenging, but like any school, it's all what you make of it. you can slide by (probably) and take easier classes, or you can take more challenging classes that you will get a lot more out of in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply! that is all.

    In three sentences

    stonehill is a small catholic school just outside of boston. despite its size, it is nevertheless a great school academically. stonehill is a great place to live if you're looking for a tight-knight community full of awesome people; both faculty and students.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is staffed with off-duty or retired cops so they have guns and know how to use them. they are prompt and efficient.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs, best way to connect with the rest of teh student body being that it is a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    go to boston or providence. go to the movies, mall or just hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    its pretty expensive for a college student, but its better than nothing. the cafe staff is really nice.

    Dorm Life

    small campus so limited options as to where one can live depending on their year. regardless, all residence halls are pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is very demanding, mentally speaking. the work load isn't overwhelming but if you slack off it can be. time mangaemnet is also a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    be disciplined with your studies. bring tons of sweaters and warm clothing for the winter, its bitter cold.

    In three sentences

    the professors are professional, extremley intelligent and engaging. the campus grounds are beautiful. stonehill has opened up endless opporyunities for me inside and outiside of school.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really like all the opportunities Stonehill has to provide. Their location is great. The academic programs seem really challenging.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stonehill is great for students that are looking for a school with a sense of community, beautiful environment, wonderful people, and somewhere that you can enjoy yourself and get a quality education all at the same time!

    Tips for prospective students

    - Visit and meet with someone in admissions - Take a tour of campus - Ask lots of questions!

    Bang for the buck

    It is on the pricey side, but they are willing to work with you to try to meet the majority of your financial needs.

    Will enjoy being here

    For sure! The campus is breathtaking and the atmosphere is very welcoming. There tons to do and the student life seems very active.

    Will learn a lot

    At any college you decide to attend, you're guaranteed to learn something. At Stonehill, I believe you will not only learn a whole lot, but also retain all of the knowledge you gain. Their academics are quite exceptional.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Caucasian, Well-To-Do, Overly Friendly, Preppy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus Tour, Interview, Solid Essay.

    Bang for the buck

    The overall cost is pretty expensive, however, the financial aid seems to be fairly good at 91%.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous and the people are friendly. There seem to be a lot of activities available such as sports, extracurriculars and volunteer programs that allow one to be able to explore different areas of interest.

    Will learn a lot

    Stonehill has a wide range of academics with plenty of majors to choose from.

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are sheltered and don't want to branch out, people who like drinking and partying, people who don't want to see much diversity. Girls who wear northfaces and uggs. People who are okay with never being able to leave the small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's honestly not as selective as they make it out to be. Some people here are so dumb I find myself wondering how they ever got accepted. If you have decent grades you'll more than likely get in.

    Bang for the buck

    I got tons of financial aid. I've heard some people weren't as lucky though.

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly, for someone who doesn't like to hard core party every weekend, it's hard to find something fun to do. The shuttle system is terrible and the drivers aren't that nice. Unfortunately, for those of us without cars, this is the only way to escape the Stonehill Bubble. I came here thinking it would be easy to get to Boston and Providence but it absolutely isn't what they made it seem. Also, if you're looking for diversity, get out now. I'm disappointed by the fact that nearly everyone is from a white, privileged, and wealthy household. If you're looking to avoid high school-esque cliques, avoid this school. Despite my love for the academics here and the beauty of the campus, I am considering transferring for the social reasons.

    Am learning a lot

    Overall, my academic experience at Stonehill has been worthwhile. The professors are really great and are always 100% willing to help you out. Freshman year you have to take Literature, History, Philosophy, and Religion for requirements, and that really was a good thing because the courses will introduce you to new concepts as well as strengthen what you already know. The only sucky thing is that there are not a ton of major options or courses to pick from. I didn't get into any of the classes I wanted for spring semester because they were all full.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stonehill College is great for students who like a feeling of community, who don’t just want to be a number at a huge university and who are serious about their future. It is a small school and so you will know five out of the ten people you see walking down the street. For me, I didn’t want to go to a small school, but now that I’m here, I wouldn’t have it any other way. There are so many opportunities at Stonehill to find where you belong. I know that I did.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, my advice would be to pay specific attention to your essay. At Stonehill, there is a limited amount of spots that the admissions officers can fill and you need to stand out more than the next person. Put as much of you into your application so that the officers can get a good sense o f whom you are. Also, if you are thinking about attending, VISIT THE CAMPUS! That is so important. I made the decision to go to Stonehill only after I visited the campus. It’s important to see if you could see yourself on that campus. Lastly, relax! Try and have fun with the college and scholarship applications!

    Bang for the buck

    Stonehill College is a private catholic college and therefore the price tag is not cheap, but our financial aid office works with you as much as possible to make sure that you will be able to attend. For me, financial aid is very important and Stonehill offered me the most money out of all the schools that I applied to. Every little bit counts and the school really works for you. This money is really going towards our school though; you can see examples of that just by walking around campus. For example, Stonehill just opened a new science center with state of the art labs, new classrooms and a glass encased atrium for students to study. It’s a real asset to our campus and I’m glad that my tuition money is going toward something as useful as our science center. I really feel as though the money I’m paying to attend Stonehill is really helping to further my educations and help me for the future.

    Am enjoying being here

    Well, Stonehill College wasn’t ranked the number seventh happiest students by the Princeton Review’s “Best 371 Colleges” for nothing. Everyone I have talked to on campus loves everything about Stonehill. It really is a community that helps you grow academically and socially. In addition, Stonehill made the Princeton Review’s list for “most beautiful campus” and “easiest campus to get around”. And there is so much to do on campus! Our school sponsors’ three mixers (like our famed “Graffiti” Dance) a year and we are constantly having themed weeks such as Spirit Week, Freak Week, and most recently our Holiday Week. There is so much to do off campus too; our central location to Boston and Providence is perfect for a day off campus. We have numerous clubs and activities which are great ways to get involved on campus and meet new people. For example, student participation in intramural sports is among the highest in the nation (if you aren’t playing for one of our Division II sports already!) There is plenty to do here and we always have a lot of fun on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    At Stonehill, I feel as though I am learning a lot. I am currently a biology major. My classes are challenging although they are doable. There are only 2,500 students in my school which leads to an average classroom size of 25. My professors all know me by name and face. I can email or call them at any time of the day or night and I know that they are there to help me. This is to your academic advantage because you can get more one on one time with your professor. It is very hard to not do well because your professors are always looking out for you. They really care about how you do in your classes. This is one of the many perks of going to a small school. On the other hand, the only downside to this is that there is not a large a selection of courses as you would get at a large school. Your counselors do their best to accommodate your first choice in schedule though and, if you play sports, they can work around that as well. I have not had a problem with my scheduling at all and I’m only a freshman! As well as having outstanding academics, Stonehill College has an awesome career services program. If you are looking for internships or need help preparing for an upcoming interview, you can make an appointment or stop in to ask for help. They have people working just to help you succeed. So do I feel like I’m learning a lot? My answer would be I learn a lot every day. Something new is constantly being discussed or debated whether in you major classes or just general requirement classes. My thought process has been expanded greatly and I know that in the coming years my knowledge will increase tenfold.