Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/06/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is police on campus at all times, although I've only seen them a couple of times walking around.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, theathre students they have many plays that are great, you can participate they alwaye need more people.There is a great art program, offer a variety of different courses.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the game room, play ping pong or a round of mario kart on the wii if no one is hogging it. But I don't usually stay after my classes are finished.

    Food and Dining

    The food is overpriced and kind of overrated, its not thay good. I've heard a lot of hype about the breakfast burrito but I'm yet to try one because of how expensive it is. If you hungry, I recommend the vending machine or drip cafe, way better than the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I've never been in any of the dorms or really seen them at campus, unaware they existed.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, but some harder than others like math and science classses. Just follow the syllabus and do the requirements and you'll pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what your major is going to be, you should take your general education classes first but you should throw in a class where you think you might be interested in and see where that leads you.

    In three sentences

    The school is great, the campus is really nice and easy to find your way around. The staff is very friendly and mostly want to succeed and will do their best to help you if you put in the effort, there are a lot of counselors to help you decide your education plan and just answer all your questions. There are many great fair the school holds such as the college fair, that can help students decide where they might want to transfer to and talk to different reps and get all there questions answers. West Valley is a great school and will help you get on track to transfer or get your associates.

  • 02/22/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have on campus cops at all times and I've never had any issues or heard of anything bad happening on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to many, AGS, and i've heard of a few others but don't know anyone in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, money conscious, commuters, students looking to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Take Geology for your physical science courses. The camping trips are SO SO fun. Literally my favorite memory of my time here.

    What to do for fun

    Join Alpha Gamma Sigma, the honor society! Or be social in class (when appropriate of course) the people here can be super cool.

    Food and Dining

    BREAKFAST BURRITOS. SERIOUSLY.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes, tons of options to chose from. The in person classes are pretty easy during regular semesters, but short term, or winter courses will kick your butt.

    Tips for prospective students

    The registration process is really simple, and you get accepted and a student ID number fast. People at this school are really friendly, but also take school seriously. I absolutely love going here and even though i'm transferring soon, will always look back at WVC positively

    In three sentences

    Beautiful, green, campus. Very small class sizes. Amazing professors.

  • 12/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part, the location of this school in expensive Saratoga allows for an enhanced sense of security on campus. Most of the classrooms are outfitted with lock-down procedures and tools, and the campus police are active and visible. I feel safe a large majority of the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are many options, but my lifestyle as an adult student has prohibited me from joining any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    While I believe there are opportunities for all students here, I know the music department is very attractive for students of the artistic background, and the Admin. of Justice program is also quite reputably excellent.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe what you get for what you pay here is an exceptional deal. Some of the professors teach at 4-year universities, but the students get access to them for a 2-year price. The beauty of the campus is also a huge bonus.

    What to do for fun

    There are certainly many clubs and communities to be joined on campus, but I found the most fun just participating in the theater and music department classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus offers a wide variety of cultural foods, so one is never bored with the selection. The kitchen is clean, and the prices are quite reasonable. My personal favorite is the coffee bar located in the cafeteria as well as the library, that offers high quality brew for all the exhausted students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, as this is a community college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While this is dependent on the individual teacher, my experience is that the academic expectations are adequately challenging across the various subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider that a community college can provide excellent education for your first two years in a financially responsible way.

    In three sentences

    West Valley College is a beautifully situated campus in the heart of Saratoga CA. It offers a variety of excellent courses in multiple subjects, and excels in their music program. The professional staff is culturally diverse and, for the most part, exceptionally devoted to their subjects.

  • 05/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in a very safe neighborhood, and is there are always officers on campus if anything happens.

    Greek Life

    Their is no Greek Life at West Valley College.

    Clubs and Activities

    West Valley College has a number of academic clubs. All of which are free and easy to join. The college also offers a number of team sports such as water polo, football, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    West Valley is a great place for Students who want to devote the time to their intended major. It is also a great place for social students. The campus is full of diversity and offers something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    West Valley College offers so many FREE programs to students. Any one can apply for financial aid, tutoring, academic counseling, even medical check ups! If you're ever a student here don't forget to look into all of these free programs.

    What to do for fun

    Friends friends friends! The College experience is what you make of it. The more friends you make in all of your classes the better experience you will have inside and outside of your classes.

    Food and Dining

    West Valley College has a cafe located in the campus center. They offer many different types of cuisine, and even offer items for vegetarians, vegans, gluten free, etc. The food is healthy, and tasty. But because this is the only restaurant on campus it can get old after 2 or 3 semesters.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there are no dorms at West Valley College. However, their addition would provide West Valley students with a wider diversity of students, and a stronger and more unified community.

    Academic Rigor

    In the Science and Mathematics department at West Valley College the teachers expect you to put your best foot forward. Often times their work loads may seem a little over the top but every assignment in your math and physics courses is intended to help you understand the material. It is also important to note that if one does all their work for their course this will often time result in less stress, and study, before a big exam. Every class you will take at West Valley will require time and dedication (regardless of unit amount). You will reap what you sow so try your hardest!

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip for ANY student (regardless of their major) would be for them to do their homework. Teachers assign homework for a reason; and even if its not weighted significantly high it makes excellent learning material that should be constantly reviewed before any quiz or test. Another important tip is to attend EVERY class and always try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    West Valley is an excellent learning environment that encourages the progression of the student's knowledge in their desired fields. Their Science and Mathematics department offers exceptional out of class learning centers where those who seek to advance their learning can gather and help one another. The school is not only an excellent learning institution, but also a social place with high spirited individuals willing to help one another in the pursuit of knowledge.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Evacuation plans are plastered in almost every room. Not just the classrooms, either. The offices, the library, they all have them.

    Greek Life

    No sororities, but they have Phi Theta Kappa as an honor society. It is a shame that all of the mandatory meetings take place in the middle of the day, when most students are taking classes. That is some pretty poor planning.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs, but so few that I could not find one that matched my interest. Maybe the clubs do a bad job at marketing, as I only really know of the Christian club. The events are solid and fresh, however. One of my favorites was when the school rented some human sized hamster balls for us to go inside and run. I always wanted to do that.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for any students in the area who want to live in the Bay Area for two more years, or want a school located in the Bay Area that is reasonably priced.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a few dirt roads that are not as oft traveled as the pavement ones, but they make nice shortcuts.

    Bang for the buck

    Solid education, and teachers are extremely memorable. A few expenses are not immediately recognizable such as the cafeteria expenses not covered in any cost calculator, but it is still well worth the expense.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from the events, the immediate area has lots to do, such as the nearby amusement park and the even closer mountains. Downtown San Jose also has a lot of things happening, from conventions to Christmas in the Park each year.

    Food and Dining

    I was adamant about trying the eggplant sandwich, but it is delicious. The fries also have an excellent seasoning mix of salt, paprika, and other spices that are a little harder to identify. They also have limited time food items that are definitely worth trying once each time. Only four stars because the hamburgers are not perfect; the meat reminds me slightly of Styrofoam.

    Dorm Life

    Irrelevant, as there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on who you have as a teacher, of course, but overall I would say it is stimulating without being infuriating, Many teachers let students out early if the topic(s) of the day are finished, and others may provide extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have weeks dedicated to stress awareness among other health issues, and transfer days where universities visit the campus. The counselors did not do too good of a job with help, however. They asked what school you would like to go to, give you the requirements for transfer, and then send you on your merry way. If the question is asking for any advice I can give to students, here are a few. Use breaks given in longer classes to walk around the campus. It's a great way to refresh the mind. Also, don't be afraid to use the health service center, they have free ibuprofen and sometimes they will have free (in cost and sugar) candy. Finally, meet your online teachers at least once in person, they'll be nicer in their emails to you if you do. Asking them a question during office hours is a great way to accomplish this.

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of natural mountain scenery around the campus; a creek runs through the center of the campus. The campus is one hundred acres: large enough to teach all students who attend, small enough to know where everything is. The events are enjoyable and rarely the same thing twice.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Located nearby is a WestGate mall. Along with these dining places, this mall offers a variety of shopping: AnyMountain, Target, Ross, Nordstrom Rack, PacSun, Burlington Coat Factory, AMC Theatres, and many retail and restaurant job opportunities! There are also trails within the Saratoga Hills that you can go for a walk/hike. West Valley also has a PE class just meant for scenic runs/walks throughout this area and other possible areas within our location! We have many football, basketball, soccer, softball games that you can attend to support this school! Students who were interested in becoming cheerleaders when they were in high school, have a second opportunity to do so in community college! There are also job opportunites that you can obtain on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, there are no places for dining within walking distance. However, if you are willing to drive down less than 2 miles on Saratoga, then you will find many places! Nearby we have WestGate mall where there are food and dining places such as Wild Buffalo Wings, Subway, Pizza My Heart, Chipotle, Chevys, Red Robin, The Melt, Johnny Rocket's, Starbucks, Country Holden's Inn, Sushi Boat, Mitsuwa (further down Saratoga), and many others! You are not too far away from these places as long as you are willing to drive just 2 miles!

    Dorm Life

    Because this is not a four-year college, there are no dorms located on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    We have a great Honors Program, in which many of my fellow classmates have transferred to UC Irvine, UC Berkeley, SJSU, CSU Fullerton, and UCLA as well as Cal Poly. Many of our classes have very high rates.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend getting ahead on an orientation with West Valley. Here, you can get a tour of the school, but also a clearer path to specific classes that you need to take in order to graduate. This made me feel more welcome to a new chapter in my life and this will get students ahead of what is needed of you. Definitely get started on this orientation into the Spring Semester before you come, so you can sign up for classes that you want as soon as possible! Every semester, the new catalogs for the next semester come out. Look through each and every class and plan accordingly! Wake up early to sign up for your classes, so you can get the ones you need and get out of there within 2 years (if preferred). If you prefer to take things a little easier, I recommend to take classes during the Winter and Summer Session. Here, you can take one class per session, which is more than enough. You can get ahead on your classes, your semesters will be less stressful, and you will feel productive during the summer! If you are eligible for the Honors Program, get in it! This will benefit your eligibility for your future four-year college. As for tips on picking teachers, definitely check out rate my professor .com. Do this as you check out the class catalog for the next semester, because you don't want to sign up for a teacher that may be too difficult/easy for you!

    In three sentences

    West Valley has an absolutely beautiful nature-filled campus, which it is located very close to the Saratoga hills! They have recently updated two of their buildings, and they have updated their campus center along with their bookstore and cafeteria. West Valley has great transfer rates with San Jose State, UC Berkeley, UC Santa Cruz, and many more!

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Try to take day classes

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion, Art, Health, and Interior Design

    Bang for the buck

    there is financial aid for those who qualify.

    Food and Dining

    good but expensive abit.

    Dorm Life

    does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Not too extremely hard if you take a vocational career or certificate program

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of using all the services and programs there. Like Health, Disability Office, admissions, library, bookstore , and financial aid. talk and ask plenty of questions to your teachers. they are glad to help out.

    In three sentences

    They have a beautiful campus and a great laboratory for their Fashion Apparel and Design Program. There are sewing machines, plenty of paper for Patternmaking and thread and tools to use for just paying a small fee at registration time. and there are great health, disabiltiy support services and financial aid to help out.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many classes and clubs that you can join for fun, or communicate with other friends. If you like to play guitar, piano, or any musical instrument for fun, you can sign up for a class depending what schedule you like. Also, if you are athletic and you want to run as a team for fun, just sign up a class and pay for some equipment that you need. There are many things that you can do for fun if you are interested like reading in the library or chatting with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in West Valley College is very delicious and simple. The line is not much of a deal, but sometimes it can be crowded as long you are patient. After you order a meal, the workers in the kitchen will have to cook it, depending what you order though, and they serve you well. The cafeteria is big, however, you can chose any sit wherever you want.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't experience dorm life in West Valley College yet, but I'm sure they have good dorm life there, but I would totally try if I can afford to pay it if I know how much.

    Academic Rigor

    Seeking a counselor and instructors is the best thing to do to assist you in your academic needs and goals.

    In three sentences

    What I like about West Valley College the most is there prestigious academic post. They have beautiful environment which are clean and well-maintained. Also, students and professors are very helpful to one another.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not a lot of student activate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on your fasfa if you need 3 units to be a full time student you should do work experience so you get paid for your job and earn credits.

    In three sentences

    West Valley is good community college you have helpful teachers and friendly peers. They could do something about the long lines in the office but other then that its a good community college. Online service is hard to understand some times.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have not decided which four-year college to go to yet, that enjoy nature and being outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    For how cheap West Valley is as a community college, you are getting what you pay for AND MORE with the effort the teachers and staff are willing to put in for you. Everyone is willing to go the extra mile!

    What to do for fun

    Definitely take the time to sign up for clubs! Its a great way to meet people. Also, West Valley has an amazing theatrical team that puts on THE BEST performances!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the cafeteria much, as I bring food from home, but the cafe that West Valley has is student run and delicious. The students that manage it are always super friendly and accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    West Valley College does not have dorms, but there are always fliers around campus from students looking for roommates, and I've noticed the prices are usually cheap for rooms!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, the classes are tough. But I think this is a good thing to make sure students are giving their best effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early- don't try to enroll in a class at the last minute. Be prepared!! Meet as many teachers and students as possible to make future connections for careers or enjoyment throughout life.

    In three sentences

    I love the feeling of being in nature while walking around the West Valley College campus. The teachers are amazing, and its hard not to get lucky with someone who is extremely knowledgeable in their field. The amount of classes they offer at West Valley is convenient and I know I will always get the classes I need.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have multiple cafe's where the food and drinks aren't overly pricey. There is a cafeteria with multiple options for food. The cafe's are what I commonly use, the coffee is good and you can grab a quick bite to eat for cheap!

    Academic Rigor

    While there are some challenging teachers, there are also some very lax and easy teachers. While most teachers really want to help you, some seem to careless about the subject they are teaching. The best way to get the best education here is two talk to people about teachers and find out who are the most interesting and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take some of the harder teachers. While taking the easier ones is well, easy, some of the more challenging teachers are the ones that are more passionate about the subject you are trying to understand. Plus, they are there to help you and if you put in the effort form a relationship with your teacher, they will see how hard you are trying. Also, this is a community college so aside from English, Math, Science, and the other general subjects, take as many elective courses as you can to figure out what you truly want to do. This is the place to figure out what major you truly want!

    In three sentences

    West Valley has a nice campus that is not overly crowded. Also, most of the teachers there want nothing more than for you to succeed in college but there are the few that don't seem like they enjoy teaching at all. Lastly, they have free tutoring for different subjects and if the subject you need help in doesn't have a tutor already assigned to it, they will find you one!

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You wont regret coming here

    What to do for fun

    They have activities here sometimes and join in when its free too and i just enjoy the atmosphere sometimes

    Food and Dining

    Food here is great. Its like something out of a food court in the mall

    Dorm Life

    I wish they had dorms. Id definitely live here

    Academic Rigor

    Everything here is pretty much new with the buildings and all. they still have some construction but i know that it'll soon be done and beautiful

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a community college, this is the one to go to. I live kinda far from west valley and i really don't mind it

    In three sentences

    I love this school when there comes a time when you are so stressed out about school that you need to relax. Yes, even at school you could just take a long walk like you in the hills and its a great environment here. I love the staff, especially the staff in the counseling office and the teachers here. They will help you to the fullest, You just have to present yourself.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own police officers! It is very safe. Be aware that they will ticket you if you do not have a parking pass.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great start in college for just about every student.

    Bang for the buck

    By going to a junior college, students save an immense amount of money. It is definitely worth it to stay at home for a year or two in order to save money.

    Food and Dining

    The food the chefs make in the cafeteria is very good! I definitely recommend trying anything on their menu.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken tough courses such as Calculus and Chemistry which were very difficult to take in the same semester. Communication, English, and other studies are less rigorous than the Sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class! I've noticed that students who skip class tend to drop out. It is extrememly important to be an active member in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    West Valley College has great faculty that is always there to help you. In my experience, my professors encouraged office hours, study groups, and tutoring sessions that helped me be successful. The curriculum is difficult, but there are plenty of resources to help students.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    organized and smart security

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college which means the per unit cost is the lowest for the region. Book cost always suck!

    What to do for fun

    Student events based on clubs, department activities and overall college events

    Food and Dining

    Great fresh food made to order, or vending machines throughout the campus

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college that has no organized dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Very focused and ready for a ready student

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to ask questions of your teachers, directors and department chairs.

    In three sentences

    Great college with dedicated staff to help a student reach their goals.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    West Valley College offers many clubs, sports. and campus activities. Clubs offered at West Valley College range from drawing, dancing, bible studies, and many more. The sports offered are football, baseball, soccer, and swimming. Campus activities are just small activities made from different students to offer new incomers a well welcome. There are many fun things to do at West Valley College, but its up to the person to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food at West College is good and tasty. Every morning walking close to the campus center and smelling the fresh cut fruits, vegetables, and burritos makes you feel like you are at home. Many students buying food come out enjoying and smiling because West Valley College offers amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    West Valley College is a community college and does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    West Valley college gets 5 stars from my point of view. Since the first day of college I loved the way my professor lectured math. Every teacher at West Valley College has many different ideas and plans to offer students. The teachers are not just in college for the money at West College, but are also there to help students raise their grade up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many students come inside a community college scared, but it should not scare anybody. Students coming from a high school should change their habits such that they should be able to organize their time. The most important tip as a prospective student is to be able to balance your life with college, and still be able to have fun and hang around with your friends or family members.

    In three sentences

    West Valley College is a good college leading many students to successful transfers or jobs. West Valley offers many programs starting from financial aid, counseling, and clubs. Even though west valley college is just a simple community college a lot of people transfer out knowing that they have successfully changed.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, explore the campus map before the first day of school and don't get frustrated if you get lost on the first day because it takes a while to know the direction to everywhere. Second of all, some of the classes are not offered every semester so spend a good amount of time when choosing class.

    In three sentences

    West Valley College has a very green, beautiful and quiet campus which provides a great learning environment. So far, I have enjoyed every class taken at this college because of the evenly good teacher quality. Also, with many new buildings constructed and currently construction, West Valley College will be a great combination of modern technology and natural environment.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe!

    What to do for fun

    Attend sports events is the most popular thing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Apparently we are famous for our breakfast burritos. I wouldn't know how they are though because I have yet to eat one. Super nice cafeteria though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are basic and pretty easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off in class even though it may be tempting. Take at least 15 units a semester. Talk to your teachers if you are having trouble.

    In three sentences

    A place to get your general education completed without the high costs of a four year institution. It is hard to create friends while being at a commuter school, but it can be done. Teachers will teach to the students who they know are there to actually learn.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sports and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Education is the key

    In three sentences

    A very good community college and nice campus. Have variety of classes that other community college do not have. There is nice staff.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not super involved on campus, but we have a million clubs and organizations. If there's nothing you like, you can create your own club. We also have a bunch of sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want to transfer to a four year university while saving money on tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is so much cheaper than a regular college, and the UC system accepts all the credits, so the money you pay is definitely worth it. There are also scholarships and jobs on campus if you want to save/make money.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in saratoga, unless you like biking. San Jose or even San Francisco are your best bet for the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The coffe shop here is awesome, and it's cheaper than Starbucks. The food is average cafeteria food, but I've heard the breakfast burritos are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes all seem really easy, and I'm actually doing a duel-enrollment program for my senior year. They do make you think outside the box, and I am learning a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick around after your classes and explore the campus. Also get all your books before school starts if you can, the lines are insane.

    In three sentences

    I definitely like it here. The campus is much nicer than I originally thought, and the teachers all really want to see you pass. All in all, it's a cool little school.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama, music, dancing, sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students trying to get their work done quick.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every penny I've paid.

    What to do for fun

    There're lots of clubs to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Education here is pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared, don't procrastinate, pay attention in class.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy this school. The classes are fun. The people are nice.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. The police are always patrolling and the students that attend are pretty trustworthy.

    Greek Life

    The ASG honors society is really great, and great to be a part of. Students that are in the ASG receive certain privileges like academic notification on transcripts expressing their success and priority registration.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from. From math and sports to drama, anime, and music, the choice is yours.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a really accepting campus, this school is good for all students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, teachers, and overall education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Several sport activities to get involved with, and the school's associated student organization has several events throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    Several places to get a good cup of coffee, and the food that is provided is actually decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging school, but with dedication, any goal can be accomplished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors, prepare to be challenged, and respect the opportunity you have been given.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with excellent teachers. West Valley has one of the best math and science departments in the Silicon Valley area. This excellence also spreads into the humanity departments as well.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only dangerous thing here are the construction zones that migrate from one side of the college to the other and back. So long as you're not incompetent enough to go meandering through them, you should be fine.

    What to do for fun

    There's a movie theater down the road.

    Food and Dining

    They have a coffee shop with organic coffee and a shop that sells sandwiches and packaged sushi.

    Dorm Life

    I'm pretty sure they don't have dorms. I could be mistaken.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class. Some are easy. Others are very, very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most classes are taught by several teachers. Research them before choosing your class, and plan your schedule around the quality of the teachers even if it means driving to class twice in one day.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are either awesome or terrible. There is no middle ground. Beautiful campus.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Laid-back folks who have a busy work life. Also for students looking to finish their general ed, and those who know they want to pursue a college education but don't know what to study yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Unit costs are rising because of the state budget cuts, so regrettably, it seems like classes are getting more expensive every year. A lot of people do receive financial aid, though, so there's that.

    What to do for fun

    Welp, downtown Saratoga is down the street and there are a few cafes that are pretty nice (Big Basin is nice and Blue Rock has Jazz nights, open mic nights, and events like that) Still, Saratoga is, all in all, a pretty quiet town. If you're looking for more things to do (art galleries, art walks, movies, concerts, film festivals, etc) I really recommend going to downtown San Jose.

    Food and Dining

    The campus center was recently finished and it looks amazing. The food in the cafeteria is pretty good and not too costly. There are two DRIP cafes (one in the campus center, the other in the library) which are really cool. The baristas are so nice!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life since it's a community college, but there are rooms for rent in the area constantly. Still, they can be fairly expensive ($600 is the cheapest I've seen)

    Academic Rigor

    If your GPA is good enough, definitely apply for their honors program. This is something I really wish I would have done, and yet I am satisfied with the quality of the education I've received, but the honors program is well known for being intensive, demanding, and really, really pushing for excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart when seeing a counselor! If you go in without knowing who to see, you'll be appointed someone at random (and this will always be the case, unless you specifically ask for this person!) Definitely, definitely find a good counselor who listens to you and you feel they know what they're doing and STICK TO THEM.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent place to finish your general education requirements if you hope to transfer (you might even be able to get an AA degree if you plan accordingly!) There is no doubt that their social science division is incredibly strong, as its teachers are deeply passionate about their subjects and, most importantly, their craft of teaching!

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In five years I have never felt threatened.

    Greek Life

    It's a Junior college

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities to do for any type of student.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for either part time or full time students. It's also great for older people wanting to earn their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great place and affordable. A lot of the teachers at West Valley College really want to help the students.

    What to do for fun

    Take classes that interest you.

    Food and Dining

    They have togo's and starbucks at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you have started the semester stay on top of your homework and studying.

    In three sentences

    West Valley College is a great place to earn your 60 units, in a cheap and efficient way. The teachers really care about there students. The campus is really pretty, it's surrounded by wild life.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are some what lazy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Serveral

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many

    Bang for the buck

    Get financial aid and it'll be worth it

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities around campus

    Food and Dining

    Not the best. But also have some really good items

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Some really hard classes, some really easy ones

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply. Use ratemyprofessor.com

    In three sentences

    Small school. Lots of tress. Lots of Doctorates on staff

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security. always feel safe arriving and leaving campus.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a big persian population here so if you speak another language, no fear. you will feel at home with the diverse group of students as well as get support from the esl office.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very diverse. we celebrate all ethnicities!

    Bang for the buck

    the instructors are top notch!

    What to do for fun

    alot of clubs and activities on campus to join to fit your particular interest.

    Food and Dining

    great food on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    hard work, but petal to the metal and you will have success!

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused and keep envisioning your goal. don't quit after a semester. keep going back after breaks and don't give up!

    In three sentences

    west valley is a healing educational setting in a park like oasis. a definate find for a school. but shhhh keep it quiet. we don't want the secret getting out!

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who don't yet know what University they want to attend and who want to live at home and save some money. West Valley is also great for students who just want to get their GE requirements out of the way for less money.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is so easy to get classes, cheaper, and the teachers are amazing. I would strongly suggest that you come here to get your General Education requirements out of the way and save some money. I am so glad West Valley was near my house so I could attend here. The classes are easy to get into, the campus is beautiful, and the teachers are amazing. They are willing to help you on their off hours and love teaching. It makes it fun to be at school again.

    Bang for the buck

    West Valley offers great prices, 36 dollars for a unit! It really is different from the University prices and is better to me!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at West Valley. The campus is beautiful and there are so many people who want to make friends. Teachers are available on their off hours and there are almost always fun activities taking place around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I was accepted to San Jose State University and then kicked out because I did not make the payment deadline for orientation. I am now in my second year at West Valley and I love it. The teachers are amazing and love what they are doing. All of my classes have been very interesting and I am better learning in smaller classes, which West Valley offers.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for full time working students and students that want to get their degree at a more slow pace atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work and you will excel in everything you desire.

    Bang for the buck

    It is alot cheaper than an university. I highly recommend going to West Valley.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being at West Valley. It is quite a car ride to get there, but I do like being here.

    Am learning a lot

    Since West Valley has such a supportive and helpful staff, it is very easy for me to learn alot of new things so that I may get my degree faster and easier. It also helps me complete what I couldn't quite understand in high school.