Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St Lawrence University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/10/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    visible for sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    definitely participate in intramurals!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the first day of school... you'll see what i mean.

    Bang for the buck

    you get exactly what you pay for. top notch school for sure.

    What to do for fun

    work out, hiking, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and snowboarding at white face mountain, play ultimate freebees, soccer, football, indoor basketball, softball, tennis, etc...

    Food and Dining

    theme dinners are the best, which happen on occasion, and night snacks at the student center are expensive but have a lot of options

    Dorm Life

    strict rules but needed to ensure safety.

    Academic Rigor

    it's as challenging as you make it but worth the studying and commitment.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready for college... be ready for the amount of work you'll receive... be ready to become organized and prepared... be ready for a change in your life... be ready to feel home sick, be ready to make tons of friends, be ready to try new things, be ready to get accustomed to the "slu bubble" definitely, do not feel shy about reaching out to staff, tutors, or friends for help... dare to be adventurous and fun. experience all that slu has to offer and you should have a great academic career.

    In three sentences

    slu is a place to explore your inner self, the beautiful nature that around you, and provides comfort and a sense of security because of the culture and the growing diversity on campus. slu provides students opportunities to be extremely selfless and competitive, while maintaining one's humility. slu gave me the chance to find my gift and it can do the same for you.

  • 10/08/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome, there are lots of choices so you're not going to be stuck with the same meal every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are about as average as any other college. It's just about the same thing you'll find everywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough, but manageable according to some friends attending the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    From what I've heard, most people either love St. Lawrence or hate it, so definitely visit and ask lots of questions that could impact your view of the school.

    In three sentences

    I live fairly close to this campus, so I've been visiting on school trips for years. The campus is beautiful, and the people are awesome! The town of Canton is an amazing community to be a part of.

  • 04/26/2015

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really fell in love with St. Lawrence on the accepted students day. SLU's campus is beautiful, and the students and staff were so welcoming and friendly! I also love that the University offers such strong academics, as well as numerous clubs and sports!

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fun, motivated, outgoing, and hardworking students are all you find around campus, and the Canton community especially loves Laurentians over other college students in the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Without giving too much away-freshmen, you WILL be surprised orientation weekend.

    Bang for the buck

    Because the the large alumni support at the university financial aid is something the university can give out pretty sparingly and willingly. Campus work studies are also available as well as summer jobs and internships on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 120 clubs and organizations on campus as well as over 20 varsity sports so if you get involved, you will have a ton of fun and meet some really great people. The university is constantly offering movies being played in the student center, comedy and hypnotist shows, and anything else you can think of including a blow up rock wall for orientation weekend. Although the school is set in the middle of nowhere, campus is always rocking.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and different options are given, but it isn't before long that students get sick of going to Dana Dining Hall everyday and decide to instead order pizza from Sergi's to add some spice into their day.

    Dorm Life

    SLU definitely sets the bar high when it comes to residential life for first year students. As the system currently works, the university splits freshmen up into groups of around 30 students, and these students are the ones you share a hall with your first two semesters, as well as a class the first semester. So it's extremely easy to get to know people, and you get to know them quickly. This is by far one of my favorite qualities of St. Lawrence.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student here at SLU, you definitely want to make sure you keep up with your academics and don't get too caught up in the social scene, because if you aren't in class the next day, your teacher will notice. Class sizes range from as small as 11 to as large as 35, and never any bigger than that. You get to experience a very hands on discussion based environment, and maybe you'll even run in to your favorite professor at the bookstore and end up having coffee at the cafe together. That's how much of a tight knit campus we are.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY NOW!

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence University is the perfect school for any student looking for a liberal arts educations. Not only are there plenty of different career paths to take, but also over 120 clubs and organizations, 20 varsity sports teams, and career services informational sessions on campus every week. You are almost guaranteed to get a job upon graduation.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is outstanding, As a young girl on campus, I have never felt unsafe at this small, rural school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for outdoorsy students, and students who don't mind snow and cold in the wintertime. Great study abroad programs make it easy to travel.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great at St. Lawrence, I just wish there was more places to go for dinner. There are two options and they are delicious, its just nice to have some variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average. It's all about what you make it. Get out there and make some friends and you'll enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are of average difficulty. The sciences are obviously gonna be hard, but they are do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's expensive, so make sure SLU is your top choice and you get lots of financial aid and/or scholarships before you come here. It's in a small town, so if you're from a big city and enjoy the fast life, it is a completely different atmosphere. People are extremely friendly and polite and it has a very cozy vibe.

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence is a quaint school in the northern part of New York State. If you like the outdoors and learning more about the environment, this is the school for you. SLU is a liberal arts university so this is a great school to explore your interests while having a great time.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue lights fairly frequent sights around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is VERY expensive. This is one of the most expensive colleges I've considered, but from what I've heard there are a plethora of scholarships available (merit and need-based) and the financial aid packages are very helpful. The programs and experiences available at this school make the cost worth it, in my honest opinion.

    What to do for fun

    I don't remember much, since I haven't been there since last June...but the town of Canton itself is small. The town does have some cool places to hang out, though, and there are tons of clubs/organizations to join on-campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food options available to you. I don't remember much about the dining halls, but they were nice and very open.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't get to see a dorm on my tour, but I asked and my tour guide said that they were fairly average size, but by no means are they extra spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty intense, but they seem to be very understanding, especially for incoming freshman students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a tour! The tour guides answer any questions about campus life that you might have, and they try to gear the tour toward your interests. Plus, you get a homemade chocolate chip cookie at the end, which is DELICIOUS.

    In three sentences

    The campus was absolutely beautiful and the library was to die for. The programs are very inclusive and diverse. The people seem more like a family than just a group of students and staff.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Lawrence students make the most of their surroundings and are almost always outside!

    Food and Dining

    The dining options are a bit limited but there is a strong focus on local and organic food. The Northstar Cafe is great once you figure out what to order (it's kinda hit or miss) and the Newell Cafe is a hidden gem.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty much everyone lives on campus so the community feel is very close knit, which is great. The people that I live with as a freshman feel like my family and everyone always leaves their doors open for people to come say hi.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Lawrence is challenging but not unmanageable. All of the professors care about their subjects and the work that students do is really meaningful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your FYP wisely - pick something you are really interested in because you are stuck with that class and your peers for the entire first year!

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence is an awesome, open minded school. There is always something going on if you look for it and the people are so friendly. It is what you make it!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and security is always a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororoties and 2 frats, only the sororoties have houses. Greek life isn't that big at SLU, if you aren't in it it's not a big deal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of student clubs and activities. There is something for everyone

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on during the weekends whether it is a performance at JAVA or a party. Many students go to the Tick Tock which is a club/bar in downtown Canton.

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 options. The first is Dana, the dining hall. Pretty typical for a college dining hall. The other is the pub where you can get food made to order or on the go.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part dorms are very nice, depending on which one your are in. Freshman are placed into certain dorms which are nice. Housing lottery can be a difficult process as your number determines in which order you get to pick where you live, and the good dorms go fast.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be hard but are manageable. Many students come from private boarding or prep schools so I would say that the work seems a little easier compared to those kinds of schools.

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence is a beautiful private college with great academics and athletics. The students and faculty are very friendly. There is a great feel of community.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Lawrence does everything in its power to keep students safe on campus. There are blue lights all over campus, security is on call 24/7 365, and they offer safe walks if people to not feel comfortable walking alone at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a very wide variety of clubs and activities that cater to everyone's interests. These range from political, to community service, to outdoor adventures and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Lawrence is great for students that value close relationships and enjoy a smaller student body. For people who enjoy a beautiful campus and the charms of small town life.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Lawrence is a very expensive school, but they give a great amount of financial aid and scholarships and offer a great amount of opportunities that are not open to people at many other schools. The money is totally worth the experience.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend St. Lawrence shows new and popular movies. There are also various dances, formals, plays, musicals, live music, etc. every throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent here, there are 4 different places on campus to eat that are covered on our meal plans which offers a wide variety of food options. St. Lawrence has options for all dietary choices and limitations, giving everyone an equal opportunity for good food.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are in good condition, and they are cleaned daily. There are a variety of places to live, including normal dorms, suites, theme houses (each house has a theme and you apply to live in it based on which best suites your interests), and townhouses for seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Lawrence has high academic expectations for students, but the close relationships that are easily formed with teachers do to small class sizes makes is very possible to meet these standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    In applying, show your interest in not only the school but academics and community.

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence is an amazing school, with great academics. The small size allows for good relationships with teachers, classmates and other fellow students. For freshman, the First Year Program is great and allows new students to make friends very quickly, giving them a sense of place at the university.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very secure at pretty much any time of day on campus. We have the blue light system, as well as a safe walk which you can call from anywhere on campus or near the Tick Tock. A boy and a girl will come and walk you back to your dorm if you feel uneasy and call the safe walk, but so far I haven't needed it. I'd say the most dangerous place is in town by the Tick Tock, because campus security doesn't really patrol there and it can be deserted if everyone is in the Tick Tock instead of out on the street. You should always go with a friend or two instead of being out alone in Canton.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't particularly strong on our campus but it's there for those who are interested. I believe we have 2 fraternities and 3 or 4 sororities. People who are and people who are not involved with greek life co-mingle, so there are no issues there.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs, from the usual intramural sports to some stranger ones, like the Cheese Club (where the members get together weekly to taste different cheeses). There are activities for all interests; for instance, I am a chem major but I participate in the Swing Dancing Club, which performs in a bi-yearly dance showcase.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves the outdoors will have a great time at St. Lawrence. There are tons of opportunities for those who want to get out into nature. The campus is welcoming to all sorts of students, although I have noticed that those who want a real career in dance or theatre may not get the experience they need at SLU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do a lot of activities in the Adirondacks, such as skiing and hiking trips. Another unique thing SLU offers is the opportunity to put one of your family recipes on the Dana Dining Hall menu. Everyone with a favorite family recipe can submit it and a few are chosen to be served over the next few semesters. We also have little yearly events, such as a fight in a giant pool of jello, the Club Win raves, and Easter egg hunts.

    Bang for the buck

    If you haven't earned a scholarship, SLU is pretty pricey for what it is. Although I have a great time and have learned a lot there, if I didn't have a scholarship, I would never have picked St. Lawrence. However, with a scholarship it's a good deal and definitely worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately Canton is a small town so there's not a ton of stuff to do outside campus. We have our famous local club, the Tick Tock, for dancing on Thursdays and Saturdays, but aside from that and eating out at a local restaurant most activities are centralized on campus. The school provides showings of new release movies, our own rave called Club Win, a music venue known as Java, and a bunch of other activities that are usually on the weekends. It's not as exciting as a city, but I personally don't find it boring.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to what I've heard from people attending other universities, SLU has pretty great food for a college. Although you get a little tired of it by the end of the semester, the meals are diverse and we accommodate all types of food allergies, vegetarian/vegans, etc. There are 3 places to eat on campus, and each is a bit different and gives you a break from the same old fare.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be pretty noisy Thursday-Saturday nights, which can be irritating for those with an early Friday class. However, the facilities are quite nice in my experience and as far as I know each dorm has a kitchenette, a nicely furnished lounge and the hallways are kept very clean by our friendly janitorial staff.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a chemistry major and I find the academics to be quite rigorous. While we are not always assigned specific homework, if you do not do your studying and reading outside of class you will definitely fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tour any colleges you are serious about, or even just possibly considering. You'll never know if St. Lawrence or any other school is right for you until you get on the campus and get a feel for it.

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence is a great university for those who want strong academics as well as a connection with nature. SLU offers challenging courses, a huge variety of clubs and activities, and friendly professors who want to get involved with your education. We also pride ourselves on our tight-knit student and alumni communities.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. If you are walking back from the library late at night, you simply have to give Safety and Security a call, and they will escort you if you would like. There are student drivers on call at night as well, should you need a ride to the hospital in case of sickness of injury.

    Greek Life

    At one time, Greek life was integral to campus atmosphere. Nowadays, it is present, but not a necessity! If you are interested in joining a fraternity of sorority, there are options out there for you, but certainly do not feel obligated. SLU is a welcoming community with many outlets.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have every club you could imagine-- cultural, entertainment, academic, honor societies, anything! From Cheese Club, to Outing Club, to Beta Beta Beta biology honor society, to Java Barn music, there is something for everyone. And hey, if not, you can always create your own group!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to have some fun and push their own personal boundaries, to try new things. Confidence is key!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few orientation secrets that shouldn't be shared (hint: it may involve some nudity out on the quad) that all seniors participate in during freshmen orientation week, but it's all fun and games! The aforementioned Peak Weekend is a great way to stay active together and include the whole community, but the strangest is the Gallon Challenge. Held twice a year by the Outing Club, it involves anyone on campus brave enough to meet at the club's theme house and partake in chugging of a gallon of milk. If you can do it in under an hour, you win! Since it's a well-known fact that it's nearly humanly impossible, let's just say the sidewalk ends up very milky indeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price tag on this school is a little pricey, I have never been happier. Already I can tell that some of my classmates, housemates, and peers will be lifelong friends. These experiences are unforgettable, and college is a primetime in life. The location, academic opportunities, small class sizes, professor availability, study abroad program options, among many other things, are hard to come by these days, but St. Lawrence University has it all, and I wouldn't trade my days at school for anything in the world.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in a small town, but there are many running trails, a river where students get together and canoe, and plenty of Adirondack chairs to take a seat, grab some coffee, and chat with pals! Even better, we live about an hour from Lake Placid, so if you're a skiier, you'll be in heaven! The Adirondacks offer 46 peaks for climbing, a focus of the students in the fall as we set off to accomplish Peak Weekend, getting a SLU student to each of the peaks in just three days!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for food on campus, whether it be sit-down, mess hall style, or our student center, with a grocery store style set-up, which also serves as the hub of campus social life. Food services is very accommodating to the varying needs and interests of the student body, offering up vegetarian, vegan, and organic options.

    Dorm Life

    There is a place for everyone at SLU! What with theme houses, athletic team suites, and smaller, class-oriented freshmen dorms, it is so easy to fit in and find people just like you! The Residence Life is helpful and accomodating, willing to help should you ever run into a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    SLU expects the best from you! We are an upstanding school, and the professors truly have your interests at heart.They are there to challenge you, to get you think critically not only about your academic work but about yourself, your major, and your place at not only at the university but in the world. Professors are always available whether by e-mail or at their office, and are willing to grab a cup of coffee in order to discuss that upcoming paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a night on campus! A short tour simply isn't enough; you need a feel for what it would be like if you were truly going to attend the university, and it will give you a chance to meet some new people, take in a class among peers, and get an inside look on the ins and outs of the campus.

    In three sentences

    SLU is a wonderfully supportive campus, fostering connections between students and professors alike. I have always found a helpful hand to turn to, whether it be for personal matters or issues regarding my major. The campus is one of the most beautiful, and opportunities to explore abound, as we live right in the heart of the Adirondack region.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I recall only one minor safety issue all year last year. Campus security is always patrolling and on top of things, but never make you feel smothered or harass you in any way

    Greek Life

    We have very little Greek Life at St. Lawrence. Social/residential life is more centered around sports teams and theme houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Tick-Tock is one of the only clubs around but that makes it even more fun because you see so many friends and people you know there regardless of the night.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, outgoing, laid back, curious, athletic, wealthy and preppy students. Or any combination of those attributes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Java Barn on campus is a great place to see live music during the week and on the weekends too. Although the music is geared more to the stoner and indie/hippie cultures, chances are you'll find something you like there at least a few times a month. It is also run nearly entirely by the student body which makes it even more relaxed and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is ridiculously expensive. (Around 56K this year). I feel like I'm getting a good education of course but only time will tell if it's worth it. Don't go for full tuition unless you plan to be at least top 25 in your class. Beyond that, I highly doubt whether SLU is worth that kind of dough.

    What to do for fun

    There are always plenty of sporting events to go to and the athletic center is well equipped for all types of active people with a variety of activities. Outdoor activities are ideal with several ski mountains, the Saint Lawrence River, and plenty of green space nearby. Weekend nights are a tough for those who don't want to party though because the party scene is so big. Then again, if partying and binge drinking are your things....you're in serious luck

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food with lots of selection for a small school. Dana Dining Hall has food for all types and is very accommodating to those with special dietary needs. Vegetarians, (I am one) for example, will have absolutely no issues here. To be honest, school food makes me more excited than food from home now.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the Freshman dorms are a little small but the fun and communal atmosphere more than makes up for this. The First Year Program living arrangements give new students a lot to bond over right away and make the settling in experience super easy. Much easier than at other schools I've heard.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to learn and work hard, you will learn because nearly all the professors are fantastic. I, however wish most classes were little more difficult and that the student body in general worked a little harder (I'm sure I will regret saying this by senior year though)

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard during the week and you will be able to do pretty much anything you want on the weekends. Also, take advantage of all the speakers, activities, events, and nightlife you can because at the end of four years, you will surely miss all these opportunities which are so abundant during your time in school.

    In three sentences

    Although it is a bit too much of a party school for my ideal taste, the student body on the whole is incredibly friendly and outgoing and make it easy to fit in right away. You'll never be able to fit in too much though because of the school size so certainly don't go if you want to hide from the world. If you take advantage of the numerous opportunities Saint Lawrence gives you and work hard, your experience will be valuable and most likely worth it, if you are the kind of person who flourishes in isolation rather than community, you probably won't enjoy your experience.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    JOIN!

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply ED!

    In three sentences

    I love it! Best school ever!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Open 24/7 and always happy to assist. Safety and Security constantly patrol campus and go on rounds to insure good behavior. In addition, we have a blue light service, as well as the option of a safety walk from both on and off campus locations to your dorm building.

    Greek Life

    We have several sororities, fraternities, and honorary societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many club and division sports, as well as many music and theater opportunity, and an extremely involved student government, activities committee, and a club for about anything you care about.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, spirited, accepting students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad experience for freshmen is quite an adventure. Also every new student receives a cowbell. Watch out for the full moons past the windows of the 24 hour room in the library. When Dana Dining Hall has a theme dinner-GO!

    Bang for the buck

    Over 90% of all SLU students receive Financial Aid. We have so much to do on campus, which being in an area with not much to do, is crucial. There is never a boring night at St. Lawrence. And the academics are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    We always have events on campus. Either Club Win, Movies, or various comedians at the Sullivan Student Center; plays, music ensemble concerts, or various artists in the Chapel or the three different theaters; or some reggae, pop, or rock at the Java Barn.

    Food and Dining

    We have awesome food choices, including many vegetarian and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    Being a first year student, living with your FYP has its ups and downs. Its good to get to know your fellow classmates, but don't forget to introduce yourself to others!!!!! Community charges are a major bummer though.

    Academic Rigor

    We have anything and everything you could want to study, and various levels to meet how in depth you wish to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to approach a professor, they are always helpful. Go to the Word Studio, and your GPA will thank you kindly. Last but not least, the pub is not Pub 56...it is the Northstar Cafe.

    In three sentences

    St. Lawrence University is school for the serious student. It has a 12:1 Faculty to Student Ratio, which insures each student receives personal attention. At SLU, we value nature, academics, and diplomacy as a university that is in the heart of the Adirondacks, a top ranked Liberal Arts School, and the closest University to the Canadian Border.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Go outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the non- serious student who likes to drink. The school has high academic standards but everything else is terrible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the opportunites on campus academically and socially. It will all balance out. Try and ask about the party scene if you are not into it because of how much you are paying you deserve not to be miserable.

    Bang for the buck

    The study abroad, academics, and career services are great. But for everything else, it is not that great.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many options for clubs/ organization. They have many options for housing except things are very limited for freshmen. It has quite the drinking culture, there are people who don't drink but they are hard to find. There is also alot of damages on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are definitely challenging and great. You learn alot and you find out that the classes are interwtined to each other. You don't realize it but you do because you are getting an liberal arts education. The professors are always willing to help you and they have great support services to help those who need it.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    St. Lawrence gives a lot of financial aid and overall gives you the best bang for the buck!!

    Will enjoy being here

    The people are enjoyable and dorming life is fun with them. They have great food.

    Will learn a lot

    They have excellent science programs and study abroad programs. The teachers are amazing in what they teach.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SLU is a great place if you did well in high school and want to excel. I received an excellent scholarship to attend, and have found myself at the top of all of my classes (I graduated in the top 1% of a class of 400). It certainly offers plenty of financial aid to incoming students, both merit and need based, and has an extremely strong alumni network that is only too happy to offer students internships or job opportunities. If you are willing to put up with a prevalent drinking culture and the fact that most people in your class will be less academically inclined, SLU is a good place to get the most bang for your (large) buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    St. Lawrence has a drinking culture. Since it's located in Canton, NY, which is very rural and relatively isolated, there isn't much to do on the weekends besides go out and party. Normally, people just pregame in their rooms and go walk around campus or dorm-hop. Most people really like this, and have no problem with drinking, dorm-hopping, and going to the Tick Tock (in that order) every Thursday and Saturday for four years. For those people who like to have fun other ways, campus can be a bit short of fun substance-free activities, but there certainly are quite a few people who don't subscribe to the drinking culture. I want to say that there is a place for everyone here, but the reality is that people who like to drink will definitely feel more at home.

    Am learning a lot

    The quality of St. Lawrence professors is excellent. As long as you're willing to take initiative and seek them out when you need help or just when you want to chat, they're more than happy to assist you or get into a conversation about anything at all. I have no complaints about the professors--they all really want to be teaching undergraduates, and plenty of students get research opportunities with them even as freshmen! I especially love my Multivariable Calc professor, who is hands down one of the most phenomenal teachers I've ever had.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should most definitely come for a campus tour and consider doing an overnight visit with a SLU student to really get a feel for the school, including how the classes operate and the types of students that St. Lawrence has to know whether it will be a good match for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition at St. Lawrence is a steep price, the school is very good about finding aid and scholarships for students. I also believe that St. Lawrence has offered me an unparalleled education, providing challenging courses, classes I am interested in, providing unique research opportunities, and has plenty of extracurriculars so everyone can find something to get involved in. There are so many opportunities to excel at SLU and create an excellent base for the future.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so grateful that I chose to come to SLU. Since the campus is in a remote location there are plenty of on campus events for students including movies, comedians, concerts, games, and student run activities. I love being in the North country with Canada and Lake Placid so close by! The scenery is amazing and the campus is simply beautiful. One of my favorite activities in the country is peak weekend, in which the school tries to get a St. Lawrence student on the top of each peak in the Adirondacks in one weekend! This is a favorite events among the students and the campus body is so small that everyone gets to know each other, making social life simple and fun!

    Am learning a lot

    St. Lawrence definitely provides many unique learning opportunities, starting from freshman year with the FYP program. With this program you live with people you have a class with, so it provides a unique opportunity to make especially close friends and you get to help each other throughout the semester. All the class sizes are small, so students get to know their professors very well and professors know all of their students too. Classes can be difficult, but teachers are very willing to spend time outside of class to help students thoroughly understand any material.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Lawrence is great for students who like to be actively involved, open-minded, and interested in meeting new people with backgrounds different from their own; students who appreciate all that is available to them and are motivated to engage in and outside of class; students who aren’t afraid to take on a challenge, learn from mistakes, and take their victories beyond limit; students who dream big and are determined to achieve the American Dream; students who value having a voice in decisions that affect them and who value the importance and necessity of having a higher education; students who find joy in hard work and who want to enjoy their college experience to the maximum potential; and lastly but not least, St. Lawrence is perfect for students who want to be leaders today, professionals tomorrow, and world changers forever.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student, some tips for prospect students include being disciplined and organized with your college application, and, if accepted, with the follow-up college requirements. As you’re making a list for the colleges you’re thinking of applying to, divide it into three tiers. First tier should be for the colleges that will be the most difficult to get in (Dream Schools), second tier should be for colleges you think you have a fairly good chance of getting in based on your school research, and the third tier should be for colleges you know you’ll most likely be accepted to (back up schools). St. Lawrence University is a great school and there will be competition with other applicants, so therefore I recommend you strengthen your GPA, resume, essays, and your overall school record as much as possible. If you’re worried about your test scores, don’t stress too much over it because St. Lawrence is “test-optional”, which means you’re not required to submit test scores from the SAT or ACT. So with more reason I repeat that your transcripts, essay, and recommendations should be stellar. Also, know whether you work better in a sea of people or in small group settings. By knowing this, you’ll know whether a small college is fit for you or if a large college with thousands and thousands of students is better for you. Furthermore, make sure you do some soul-searching to understand exactly what passions drive you the most and make sure you search for various schools of all categories from privates, public, out-of-state and in-state. Also, try not to worry too much about tuition costs. I applied to St. Lawrence not expecting much financial aid, but in fact I received a scholarship and lots of unexpected financial aid. It was the most expensive school I applied to and yet it offered the greatest monetary aid. You just never know! Nonetheless, have fun with your college search!! Cappex makes that possible just for you.

    Bang for the buck

    For those who have already taken a look at the tuition, room, and board costs, I’m sure you were blown away by how costly St. Lawrence is. I too was astonished by the costs and I was close to not applying for that reason. However, each year, St. Lawrence awards tens of millions of dollars in financial aid. Some of this is based on your family's financial need, and the remainder is based on the strength of your application. All successful applicants to St. Lawrence are considered for merit scholarships (a total of 12 scholarships). St. Lawrence also offers other types of financial aid such as athletic scholarships, grants, student employment, Pell grants if applicable, and of course, educational loans. More in-depth information is offered on the school’s website page for Financial Aid. As long as the FAFSA is sent in on time and appropriately, paying for St. Lawrence isn’t an impossible thing. Furthermore, some of the things imbedded in the tuition include great online and technical services, professional research engines, major year round activities, and great dining services among many others. I received a great financial aid package for my first and second year, and I know I’ll keep receiving great financial packages for the next two years.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being a student here! Because St. Lawrence is located in a small town, there are always many activities and events on campus. Sporting, comedy, talent, and singing events usually take place every week. The Java Barn is a music venue located on campus that features popular live music every weekend and then you have the popular rope swing at the nearby Grasse River that’s just five minutes away from campus. Since St. Lawrence is located in the natural world, many people go on trips to the nearby Adirondack Mountains for hiking, camping, and other outdoor activities. During the winter, you have lots of students go up to Whiteface in Lake Placid for skiing and snowboarding, and others ride to Ottawa, Montreal, and Syracuse for more city fun. For those days when it gets a bit chilly, the gym is always available alongside with an indoor track, swimming pool, tennis courts, and a rock climbing wall. The student center is also another popular destination as it houses a café, ping pong and pool tables, comfortable couches, and the Winston Room, which is where the best parties on campus take place. I truly enjoy the student body because for the most part, they’re really nice, open minded and accepting of all people. They’re easy-going, approachable, and based on the students I’ve met they’re all here with the purpose to change the world for the better. Most students find an extracurricular activity to be a part of, whether it’s volunteer work, soccer intramurals, a fraternity, or a spiritual fellowship group on campus. I’ve found my own and I’m enjoying it as much as possible. Not only is the campus big and tremendously beautiful, it also has fantastic residential and academic facilities. You definitely feel safe and at home while being at St. Lawrence University.

    Am learning a lot

    There’s no doubt that St. Lawrence offers plenty of opportunities and experiences that get students learning, growing, and living to their best potential. The administration, advisors, and all professors are extremely accessible and willing to help in any way they can. They’re dedicated to making each student’s experience challenging and rewarding. With small classes, students have the wonderful opportunity to engage on a personal level with the professor during class time and you can bet the professor will know exactly who you are. Some classes have taken place outdoors, in the fields, nearby farms, in river streams, in the theater, and even in large professional meeting rooms. Learning at St. Lawrence also occurs outside the classroom with plenty of tutoring and career services, study conference rooms in both libraries, intellectual conversations over a delicious dinner in Dana Dining Hall, or during the various insightful yet fun events and activities available all week-long. Students also learn a lot from peers due to the fact that St. Lawrence is home to many international students from different continents and students all over the U.S., all from diverse backgrounds. For example, two of my closest friends are from Malawi, Africa, and Brazil, and my roommate is from New York City. Not only have I learned to be a better student, leader, and friend, but I’ve also learned plenty about other cultures and I’ve learned to appreciate my family and culture much more. St. Lawrence has 30 majors, an average class of 16, a great new science center, and a great study abroad program. As a small private liberal arts school with high academic ratings, St. Lawrence University is definitely a school prospective students shouldn’t easily dismiss.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who want a liberal arts education and for those who like the outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    These are just tips in general from what I have learned. Procrastination is not good. No matter how you look at it if you have something due, do it as soon as possible so you have less work to do later in the end. The second thing is to do the best you can. Professors always tell me that sometimes you will try the best you can and you won't always get the grade you want. It may stink but just keep trying and you'll get there. The third is always have fun and don't regret a thing you do.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a lot of money but for the most part the money covers a lot. It pays for the counselors, tutors, different websites needed for research. Although it seems like the money isn't worth it it really is.

    Am enjoying being here

    the people, activities and things that are available on the weekend are always interesting. I've done a lot from going to parties in peoples rooms to just staying in and watching Disney movies. No matter what you want to do there is always someone willing to do it with you even if you think its stupid. Trust me its not.

    Am learning a lot

    There is always something new to learn as well as debates on various topics. The school provides different way for you to find the information you need to complete and learn anything that is needed of you. No matter what class you are in there will always be something interesting to find out whether its about the class or about some debate off topic everything is interesting.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who really wants to learn alot but also likes to party occassionally and have a good time.

    Am enjoying being here

    The best thing about St. Lawrence is the student body. You can be who you want and find others like you and not be shunned for your own personality. Another good thing is that the food is really good.

    Am learning a lot

    St. Lawrence University has some great classes and the teachers are awesome. The science programs are awesome. In one of my classes, natural world biology, we went on a field trip every week. We did canoeing, kayaking, hiking, fishing and swimming. It was really awesome.