Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sul Ross State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/15/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With Alpine being such a small town are campus police works closely with our city police to make sure everything is safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to name! I am personally in the rodeo club and I love it! If you don't see a club that fits you then just make one, students start them all the time!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that love a change of scenery< and for really anyone that loves the outdoors and wildlife.

    Bang for the buck

    What you get from this school and this town is totally a bang for its buck!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun. You just have to go out there and look, we have everything from hiking trails to indoor soccer!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, it is a buffet style eating so you can always go back for more with plenty of option! As far as the town food goes there are a bunch of mom and pop restaurants that serve up some of the best cuisine!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a blast! There's always student actives to participate in and you make a ton of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    For a university this school is almost like high school! The class sizes are small and the teachers really work one on one with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I have is to come out and explore the town and surrounding areas so you know were you can escape to when you need a breather.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a great school to come and explore life and the amazing west Texas area. I have meet so many kind people here and really found what I want to do with my life. I recommend this school to everyone, there's a place for all of us here.

  • 02/15/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. They are on call 24/7 and are always willing to help. You can call them for any reason. If you are walking back to your dorm late at night they will come pick you up and drive you back and make sure you get there safely. Just feeling unsafe in the dorms they will come check things out for you.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to do on campus. There is Bingo night, they do a Karaoke night during finals that is meant to help students to have a little fun and forget about the stress of finals. If there isn't a club you are interested in. You can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus holds many different options for our very diverse students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A fun tradition that every student must do is hike up to one of the desks on Hancock Hill and sign it or the notebook in the drawer. Once the notebook is filled up it is replaced with a new one and then taken to the archives in the library.

    Bang for the buck

    Being such a small campus everybody knows everybody and you will make friends easily.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. Enjoy the outdoors here. Hike Hancock Hill, go to the park, go golfing, go to any of the sport games that are here, or you can go swimming in the pool that we have here at our REC center. Many things to do here you just have to be open minded.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here at Sul Ross is good. You have a main course option as well as several other options. It is a buffet option so one swipe of your ID and you can get as much as you like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad. It sounds awful but it really isnt. You will have your own bedroom and only share a bathroom and living area with another student.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and other faculty care about your success. They want to help you and they want you to be your very best. Don't be afraid to ask questions, visit them in their office for help, or just try and make some kind of a connection with them in the classroom. A bond with your professor will help you to reach your ultimate goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Allow this little town to grow on you. That will make your experience here that much better. Don't judge a book on its cover. There is way more to this town than you see on your first visit.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a very well rounded college for any type of student. It offers many options to help a student to achieve their dreams. The faculty is very interested in the students success.

  • 02/14/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus UDPS is present at all times on campus without being overbearing. They offer a wonderful service for students that, if they have to walk across campus at night and feel unsafe about that for one reason or another, they will talk to you on the phone or escort you to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life per say on campus. Our "Greek Life" is actually the honor societies such as Kappa Delta Pi and Sigma Tau.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs on the Sul Ross campus, Sully Productions is one of them. There is also LARP club, Art club, Music club, Theatre club, Collegiate FFA, Psychology Club, Radio Club, Ballet Folklorico, Student Government Association just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student is welcome here at Sul Ross. From the outdoorsy extrovert to the introverted gamer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the funniest and quirkiest things is the desk on-top of Hancock hill. After a quick hike, there is a desk with a notebook for students to sign.

    Bang for the buck

    Given the faculty and staff at Sul Ross, the things you can learn, the opportunities presented to students, the student life, and the number of scholarships available for Sul Ross students this school is probably one of the best schools when it comes to affordability based on what there is to offer and the quality of what it has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things on campus and in the surrounding areas of alpine to do for fun. For the more outdoorsy types Hancock hill has a fantastic hiking trail. There is a club on campus called Sully Productions that spends the entirety of its club funds on bringing in entertainment for students such as: magicians/illusionists, concerts, Bingo nights, mechanical bull riding, game nights, etc. Sully Productions also pays the Rangra Theatres once a month to give students a free movie (unless its a 3D movie, then there is a $3 charge) on the first Monday of every month. Close by is the McDonalds Observatory in Ft Davis if you want to go star gazing, and a little further than that in Balmorhea state park where you can swim in crystal clear natural water with fish.

    Food and Dining

    The University center dining has a great variety of food. They offer a salad and pizza bar as well as a vegetarian selection. There is a main course section and for those who just want a quick burger or sandwich that is also available. Their hours do not always work with scheduling though, which is why I'm not giving this a 5 star. They are open for breakfast from 7 to 9 M-F, 9 to 10 on Saturdays and from 11:30 to 1:00 on Sundays. For lunch they are open from 11 to 1:30 M-Saturday, and for dinners they are open from 5 to 7 M-F and 5:30 to 7 on Saturdays and Sundays. The lunch hour conflicts for many students depending on how their schedules work out and those students don't get to have lunch on the days that their hours conflict.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, there are the newer ones called Lobo village 1 and 2 where it is 2 students in an apartment styled unit. Each unit has two separate lockable rooms so students can give themselves privacy as well as seperate sinks and medicine cabinets. The unit also has one bathroom so that the entire floor is not sharing the bathroom. These dorms are very nice and have some good views of Alpine. Some of your neighbors can get kind of rambunctious and noisy but the RA of the floor will usually maintain a decent noise level.

    Academic Rigor

    Every individual is different, especially when it comes to learning. There were some challenging classes for me that were not challenging to others but some classes I found were not challenging but were difficult to others. The part about it is whether you as a student wants to put effort into the class. Every professor on campus has been very willing to help guide me and tutor me when I wasn't understanding the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I suggest to every prospective student regardless of coming to Sul Ross, get all applications for dorm and scholarships done on time or even before they are due for that academic year. A tip for prospective Sul Ross students is to try their hand at every class there is to offer, especially if they are undecided. They may learn exactly what field they are most interested in by doing that and can get the full college life experience.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely beautiful campus life and a lot of one on one with professors. Friendly faces and helpful staff/faculty. Full of activities/clubs for students and many scholarship opportunities.

  • 02/14/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am currently playing basketball at Sul Ross so I spend a lot of time in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great to eat and it is always different choices to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very fun and a great experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher are really great! They help students as much as they can. They will work with you on anything and everything you need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Making the right friends can take you a long way at Sul Ross. Being very activity around campus will keep you busy and involve in things.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great school to attend. The people and environment are wonderful. Plus it is such a beautiful campus to look at and enjoy.

  • 02/13/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police, and some huge lights in the Middle of the school that if you feel in danger you can press it and it will alert the police.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    There are A lot of Activities i am currently in three. I am in Newman Club which is like a religious youth group and everybody is welcome of course. I am Also in SSS which is a group where we tr to raise money to go on a trip. I am also in Rotoract Club which is a club where you get to volunteer and help people in need, and finally in Sully Productions which is a group where you help set up events on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Sports are easier to get into here than in a division 1 college and you will have better grades than in a bigger university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a couple desks on the hill near to us and you have to go find it and sign your name in a journal. It is fun to see all of the students before you that have signed it. Also like Texas A&M we have a sully sculpture where we get to dress him up and the next person gets to replace what he has with something of their own.

    Bang for the buck

    Earning your college degree is your Bang For The Buck

    What to do for fun

    When im not in class or working there are always things you can do you just have to find them. If you like video games or things of that sort we have a room in the library where you can go play or wifi in the dorms to stay and play. If you like pool there is a game room in the University Center which offers pool, ping pong and even a big screen tv to watch the Superbowl. And don't forget the the gym where there are Intramural Sports, a pool and a gym.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food it is a buffet, A lot of the times students try to stay away from that Freshmen 20 or whatever which is when you gain like 20 pounds your freshmen year. So the dining hall provides a salad bar. Now if you just want to eat pizza or burgers they have that too!! Dont forget about the dessert.

    Dorm Life

    I actually enjoy the dorms here at Sul Ross, In the Lobo Villages which are the nicer dorms you live a little like being in an apartment since you have your own dorms. If you like being on social media, there's wifi to stay busy. The RA's are really cool and very helpful and will try to be your friend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and it is easier to connect with your professors. A lot of the time they will even know your name. Just make sure to show up to class because they will know when you are missing, which is a good thing because it will keep you from skipping classes a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the schedule how you want it and if youre trying to save money make sure you give your self a lunch break during the dining hall hours. You dont want to set up class after class and not have a lunch break. Another thing is stay busy, make some friends or join a club it will help you when you miss home.

    In three sentences

    I Love Sul Ross because while being here i have met some incredible people that have made an impact in my life. I like it because with it being small i can get my work done and be with friends. One of the best things here would probably have to be the small classes and you dont have to walk far to go from class to class.

  • 02/13/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have on campus police and they do a great job of protecting us.

    Greek Life

    NONE!!!!!!!!! WE NEED TO BRING GREEK LIFE TO SUL ROSS.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs on campus such as, Math club, Rodeo club, Biology clup, Spanish club and the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    All type of students especially those who are interested in wildlife.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The desk on A mountain, that students sign.

    Bang for the buck

    Earning your college degree is a bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends and play games. Hike mountains and enjoy the outdoors. Go to the gym or intramural field with friend.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is good and there a variety of food choices to choose form. The C-store is the best thing on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are apartment style: you share bathroom and living room. You have your own room which come s with bed, closet, dressers, night stand, and computer desk. You have you own key to room as well. Living in dorms are a cool experiences. You get to meet new people and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small so you get an hands on experiences with professor. Professors are very helpful and will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sit in room all day everyday. Get out and visit the town. Hike A mountain with friends when bored.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great place to get an education. The campus is beautiful and classes are less than five minutes away. The class size is small as well.

  • 02/13/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good considering the town of Alpine has multiple officers from several different law enforcement agencies including local pd, university pd, state pd, Border Patrol, DHS, DEA, and even FBI. On top of that Alpine has the most law enforcement per citizen of any place in the U.S.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here and I'm glad there isn't.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club choice is limited but most are rounded around majors such as Range & Wildlife Club, Biology Club, Geology Club, Art Club, and Business Club. These are good to build connections for future careers.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who like being outdoors and who enjoy a small town feel

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really traditions here and that's okay, its a college, you are here to go to class and learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Dollar for dollar you're getting a fairly decent quality of education especially if you're a Wildlife major. The amount of hands on experience and opportunities in the Wildlife field here is enormous.

    What to do for fun

    Go hiking, hunting, listen to concerts, and go eat great local food

    Food and Dining

    The Meal plans are not the best. I feel as though you pay too much for such little quality in food, now I'm not expecting five star dining but I also expect food to not be just pasta all of the time and left overs from two or three days ago

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice if you have the money. In my opinion the dorms are slightly over-priced. Dorm life would be better if there wasn't such a large presence of illegal drug use from its residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are fair and not too challenging but at the same time not too easy. Classes are what you make of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the small town feel then you will be at home down here, however if you absolutely enjoy the big city then Sul Ross State University and Alpine, TX isn't for you. And when you do come down here you will be homesick for a couple months. Also don't go home all of the time on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a small and affordable college that offers a variety of degrees for a decent price. The small class sizes and small University size makes it an easy college to traverse. Since the class sizes are so small you get a slightly better learning experience than you would at a larger University. The University is also cost effective and affordable for most everyone.

  • 02/13/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has its own state certified department of public safety, not to mention all the other law enforcement in the area. I've heard that Alpine has the most law enforcement per citizen of any place in the U.S., and it seems to be true.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at this school :(

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining clubs, especially departmental clubs, is by far the best way to get great experiences at Sul Ross!

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small, rural towns seem to like Alpine the most. Students from larger cities seem to get bored more easily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is literally on the side of a mountain ( a Texas mountain, anyways. It's really just a big hill.)

    Bang for the buck

    If I can afford it, then most others will be able to as well. Amazing experiences in the field and hands-on activities! Much more so than you would get at larger, more expensive universities.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends! Residential living (dorms) is required for two years if you are under 21, so make the best of it and get to know your neighbors.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't usually bad, but it has its days...

    Dorm Life

    Residential living (dorms) is required for two years if you are under 21, so make the best of it and get to know your neighbors. The dorms are very nice, especially for the price! My brother goes to Tarleton State and pays twice as much for dorms that are less than half as nice. (NOT trying to slam Tarleton)

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Sul Ross are what you make them. If you study hard and try, you will almost certainly do well and learn. If you don't, you won't last in any college.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a fairly priced university in a small, peaceful desert town. The views here are beautiful, and outdoor activities are plentiful! Sul Ross is the perfect university for a student who loves wildlife and the outdoors, especially if you don't mind a lack of trees.

  • 02/10/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have on campus police who patrol the campus daily, and are willing to give rides to the dorm in the evenings as well as at night, if students are walking from different areas on campus!! Very SAFE ENVIRONMENT!!!!!!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Sul Ross

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on the Sul Ross campus and there is always an opportunity to start new clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a cactus garden which is pretty unique for the campus along with the branding wall.

    What to do for fun

    The school is always hosting on campus events for student and the community , and there is always sporting events which are free for all sul ross students.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options for eating, due to the buffet style. There is also a vegetarian option as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Sul Ross is great!!! Although you have a roommate you have your own room giving you privacy. Also if you have any issues in your room you have a residential living assistant right down the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic load is very manageable, all the professors are open to helping students succeed, which is very encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded, to new experiences.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross has been a great choice for me, I have met great people and really stepped out of my comfort zone.

  • 02/10/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University Department of Public Safety is always available and they are the most helpful people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the bar-SR-bar on Hancock Hill is a Homecoming tradition that continues on through the years. We also light the bar-SR-bar during Homecoming as well.

    Bang for the buck

    For what Sul Ross's tuition is it worth every penny. There is also so many opportunities for applying and receiving scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has activities happening every week. There is so many club on campus that you could always join one and make life long friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always fresh and the salad bar is always stocked! The menu is always changing and is always good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are some of the best in Texas! There is two different types of dorms you can apply for the Lobo Villages or Fletcher Hall. Fletcher Hall is the more traditional type of dorm and Lobo Villages you have your own room and share a common area and restroom with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Introductory classes are intense but you will learn about everything within that subject. Once you go into the your upperclassman the experience is always rewarding and challenging. The professors will teach you everything and anything that you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a personalized campus tour before coming to Sul Ross because you can see how beautiful the campus is before you even come!

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is one of the best universities! It has small professor to student ratios so you are always able to talk to professors. The atmosphere on campus is always positive and happy.

  • 02/10/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus, from Roteract to Student Government. Every field of study has a club dedicated to it and clubs for many different things. If there is a club that does not catch your full attention, Sul Ross allows you to create your very own club. Sul Ross has so many opportunities for success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a statue on campus dedicated to Sullivan Ross, an important figure at Sul Ross. Pennies are left at his feet for good luck. Students leave pennies during finals to get as much luck as possible.

    What to do for fun

    This question is asked a lot since we are located in such a small community. Just like any other place, in order to have fun you must get up and find it. There are trails to go hiking and a movie theater to watch movies. The recreational gym has many options, such as a indoor swimming pool, basketball court, tennis court, weight room, etc. Grills are located on campus to have cookouts, as well as parks around town. Alpine has many opportunities to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The University cafeteria is designed to be a buffet style. It is an all you can eat in one sitting buffet. They offer a pizza and salad bar, as well as a dessert table. They grill food and have a designated area for pasta. Food is served three times a day six days a week. On Sundays, brunch and dinner is served.

    Dorm Life

    The residential halls are luxurious. WiFi, cable, and laundry services are offered for free. The lobo villages are apartment style dorms. You have your own bedroom and bathroom sink. You share the living area and the restroom with your roommate. The old traditional dorm room style is offered here as well. The residential halls help make you feel at home while you are away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Sul Ross is as challenging as any other University. The professors expect your best work and you must be motivated to do so. Sul Ross is only difficult if you make it. Anything is possible and all classes are passable. Some take more work but it all depends on how you want to handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not easy and is not for everyone, so when you start have the right mentality. If you do not go in strong, you will struggle. College is not just party and have fun, it is also about your education and future career.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a college that is dedicated to the students. Everyone's goal is to make sure you become as successful as possible. If you come to Sul Ross alone, you will leave with a second family.

  • 02/09/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UDPS is outstanding in keeping our students and facility safe and aware.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are abundant at Sul Ross and if there is not one for you, you can create your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    homecoming in the fall is a great time for all Sul Ross traditions to shine. The lighting of the Bar SR, Powder Puff, the Club derby, tailgating and many more fun activities take place during that week.

    Bang for the buck

    college can get expensive but at Sul Ross our prices are geared toward anyone. although it may seem pricey, for the quality of education and passion you receive from your professors, it makes every dollar worth your while.

    What to do for fun

    In the surrounding area there are a lot of state parks, hiking and outdoor adventures.

    Food and Dining

    Armark does an outstanding job to feed all the students we have on campus. there is a variety of options on a daily bases and the staff is friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Residential living works hard to put the students first, more changes can be made if we have more student interactions. There are many resources and they always welcome new ideas.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes gives students a more hands on learning experience. this helps students get a better relationship with the professor and new teaching techniques.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and ask questions. Join clubs like SGA and RHA to help make a difference for your academic career.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a close community who cares about others goals and accomplishments. They staff is tentative and well rounded. All aspects of Sul Ross is geared towards the students.

  • 08/16/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    sul ross is a great school with amazing staff! they work with you to help you establish your goals in both the short- and long-term. the curriculum at sul ross truly prepares you for your future studies at larger universities!

  • 02/24/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and if you don't feel comfortable walking alone in the dark you can call campus police and they will take you to your dorm. No major crimes happen in the town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer Clubs, Student Government Association, Kinesiology Club, Gaming and Technology Club and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Like the quiet like to be surrounded by great people and a friendly community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The DESK an all time tradition here at Sul Ross you are not really considered a true SRSU students until you find the hidden desk up in the Mountain behind the Lobo Villages.

    What to do for fun

    There's the gym which is open to the students. The gym has a basketball court, weight room, sauna racquetball court, aerobic classes, and also a conditioning room which has treadmills, and elliptical machines. Every month on the first Monday the movie theater Rangra has free showings for the Sul Ross students. There is always football, volleyball, basketball, baseball, and softball games that you can attend to which are free to the students. There is also a game room in the University Center and you could check out games in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always good you get to choose your meal plan which is great. Breakfast is always good you get to see the early birds (students) who have morning classes. Also breakfast lunch and diner are like an all you can eat buffet which is great because you don't have to only eat one plate and still be hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great you get your own privacy, its like living in a small apartment you have a living room two bedrooms, and two sinks and one bathroom. You get to choose your roommate and its fun in general because if you don't end up with your friend you can apply for a roommate change. You could also go for the traditional dorms which is one big room with two beds and a bathroom joining two rooms which is used by four people including yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty decent seeing that the professors are always willing to help you out in your classes. Stress levels are fairly low because you don't always get pop quizzes or anything too difficult actually. Think of it as high school your teacher wont let you fail they want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and make sure that you visit the campus when you have time because that will be the best way for you to see how it really is. Don't just take my word for it also make sure that you don't become hung up with the idea of taking afternoon classes instead of morning trust me morning classes are better because it will free up your afternoons and give you time to get a job if you want to.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a really great school to attend you get to meet a lot of new and exciting people. Everybody is friendly all the teacher look out for you wanting to see the best of you. If you do end up deciding to come to Sul Ross you wont regret it because the atmosphere here is always fun and friendly.

  • 01/20/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every week there is something going on whether its movies, bingo, open mic, or concerts.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not gonna lie the food could be better but its food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms have a living room, bathroom, and to separate bedrooms. They also come with microwave and miny fridge. Overall the dorms are pretty quite.

    Academic Rigor

    it can get pretty hard but if you study hard you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your degree plane wisely. Make sure to take the classes that you need. Most importantly study hard.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a quite campus. It is in a small town with a small class size. It has many degree plans to choose from.

  • 12/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is not much campus safety besides the University Department Of Public Safety. their are wild animals such as deer and wild bores that roam the campus but they are harmless unless you tamper with the animals.

    Greek Life

    At Sul Ross their is no Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are very few clubs and Activities to participate in at Sul Ross.

    What to do for fun

    For fun every one goes to the bar/club across the street from the University.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus dining area is not to die for but is is fulfilling for those who are hungry and waiting something to eat. The lunch is very affordable and flexible to everyones eating habits their is a wide variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is exquisite! the dorms are apartment stye, the rooms include a large living room with furniture, there is two bed rooms with one bath in each room which is separated by their own doors which is helpful with privacy. the doors are semi thick meaning it takes a lot to be disturbed by a noisy neighbor.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not that though the classrooms are High School class room sized which helps make the class work easier and the rigor of some of the classes less stressful because everyone gets the one on one attention that is preferred. All of the teachers are very helpful when a student struggles in specific areas and they create availability for the students with out hesitation because of the lack of about of studies they have participating tin the class rooms. Sul Ross also has a very outstanding online courses that the students like to participate in which are very helpful because even if a student is not in a class and would like to take a course online they are also welcome to speaking with teachers about the course they are in for help also.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Sul Ross do not expect much out of

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is warm and welcoming, with great learning facilities and a freindly faculty. Sul Ross is also a public school with private school amenities such as the learning environment and campus size. In the City Of Alpine, where Sul Ross is located also helps incoming students feel welcomed to the school, the people in the city really help make students have an at home feel.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of police and a fairly diverse student population. You will feel safe at Sul Ross. There are wild animals, such as mountain lions and jevelinas, so it may not be safe to roam outside at night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life. If that is a deal breaker then steer clear. If it doesn't really matter I suggest you try the school to see how it fits.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, but they are often for majors. They are not limited only to the students in the major, but they will be esoteric. But you could always make your own club and find someone willing to join your cause.

    Great for these types of students

    It will be good for you if you love nature and hiking. It would also help if you are okay with being alone a lot. It is for the self disciplined and the open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a desk that a student dragged into the hills one year. If students go into the hill to write their name and wish on it, and it is supposed to come true. There rocks on the hill that spell out Sul Ross. Students go into the hills to paint the rocks white, and play in paint.

    Bang for the buck

    It offers a great education for a reasonable price. The staff, at least in the computer science major are committed. There are no shortage of projects and clubs to join.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of fun things to do, but only if you have a car and are willing to travel. There is snowboarding, horse back riding and swimming in a large spring-fed pool. But all of those activities are a couple hours drive away from campus. It may be better to hike into the hill. Just watch out for mountain lions.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes okay. It is buffet style, so you will get your fill. And there are deserts.

    Dorm Life

    Apply for housing early, and apply for efficiency living. If you're in the residence hall you will have a roommate, but you will each have your own room. You will only have to share a bathroom with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The Computer Science degree is one of their best degree programs. The physics degree program is okay as well. Study a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your academic advisor or speak with him/her as soon as you can. Talk to your financial aid advisor. Expect a quiet campus life.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is affordable. It has a fairly wide variety of majors and interests. It is a small college and in a small town, and you really get a feel for nature.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus police, very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great art, rodeo, geology clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Geology students, great art department, rodeo students, communications and computer gaming dept.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Museum, the industrial arts dept.

    Bang for the buck

    Great students and awesome small town with friendly residents.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking in Big Bend National Park, swimming at Balmorhea State Park and Sul Ross has a great pool, and enjoying rodeos.

    Food and Dining

    Great food & very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but I have ssen the dorms and they are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Sul Ross offers baseball, football, volleyball, track & field, and rodeo.

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable, and a very friendly atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great University where I feel very comfortable. The professors are very helpful and there is no other university I would transfer to at this time. Sul Ross State offers me the classes I want and I have made the Deans list and I intend to keep making my peers proud.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus = quick response time. There are always campus police on duty. In my experience they tend to go above and beyond to help you. Also don't speed around town, you will get a ticket for going 1 mile over the speed limit!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    You wont have a hard time getting into any club. Every club welcomes all students with open arms.

    Great for these types of students

    Like the peace and quiet, like nature, like culture, and like being around friendly folk.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    That's all part of the fun of going to the campus and becoming a Lobo. I can't give away our little traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    Low faculty to student ratio and also the most affordable state school in Texas. It's hard to beat that!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of small and personal student organizations around campus. The area is also beautiful! You can go to the big bend national park, go star gazing at Fort Davis, or go check out the Marfa lights in Marfa. Also there are always little festivals going on around the different towns.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat. Some people complain, but i'm rarely disappointed with the dinning services.

    Dorm Life

    I get a private room, my roommate gets a private room, and we share a bathroom and living area for the same cost as most other college dorm rooms that make you live in the same room together - yes please! If your not on the third floor there are a couple of thuds now and again, but by no means severe. Note that this is a country town and 90% of the people wear cowboy boots.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but as I tell most people, it really really really makes your life a whole lot easier if you go to class EVERYDAY and do ALL of your homework. If you blow off your professors your grade will reflect that, if you show up and have a good attitude your grade will reflect that! The classes are also much more personal than most schools. I had a class just this last semester with just five other students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate the school. It gets a bad rap because it's small and in the middle of nowhere in west Texas, but that's part of its charm. It really is a beautiful area and its sad to see prospective students continually disappointed because there is nothing to do around town. There are no night-clubs but it is what you make of it. Marfa and Alpine always have festivals going on, and if you're really bored drive out to Marfa or Fort Davis and star gaze. I love the laid back nature of the school and I especially love the peace and quiet. There are a lot of organizations on campus that prospective students can get involved with and there is a great volunteer fire department for potential career firefighters. As an average person like myself it has been a great experience being able to get involved in many organizations that I probably wouldn't have been able to get involved with had I gone to a larger school.

    In three sentences

    It is great because it is a very small school and it is nice and quiet around town. Everybody is very friendly and easy to get along with. The largest class I ever had was about 50 students, and my professor still knew my name.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. It's located in the middle of a small town in West Texas.

    Greek Life

    There is no distraction of Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Theater and the Freshman Leadership program are great activities to become involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the country loving type, farmers, or ranchers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wrapping the wolf with red. Climbing the Sul Ross hill to sign the desk that's hidden at the top.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Mexican food at the local eateries!

    What to do for fun

    Watch a movie outside, play a game of sand volleyball, visit the McDonald's Observatorium, as well as take a trip to Marfa to visit the Marfa Lights. Take a trip to Balmorea and dip into the fresh spring fed pool, or hike up the davis mountains. Travel even further away and camp at the Big Bend National forest!

    Food and Dining

    Food is all you can eat, whatever you want to eat. Always options for those who are trying to eat healthy, as well as those who enjoy the traditional slice of pizza or corn dog.

    Dorm Life

    Incredible! Dorms built in 2006 and fairly new. The main thing to do in Alpine is hang out with friends and enjoy the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty provides a challenging curriculum. They are also available to help students one-on-one during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is perfect if you are persuing a degree in Horticulture, Agriculture, or anything to do with the ranch.

    In three sentences

    The school is small and has a friendly staff. The student life flourishes. The teachers are focused on providing a quality education to their students.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Sul Ross because it is a great community.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a great school. The staff are very helpful and polite.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus...in the three years attended never experience or witness any criminal incidents.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Self-starter, social and active

    Bang for the buck

    School is very family oriented...do not worry if balancing family and books.

    What to do for fun

    Visit border town Mexico, and mid-town...plenty of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Eaten at the campus cafe a few times...food is not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work, Study and assessments will pay off. I love the interaction in the class and group assignment given by some instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is wonderful place for learning...Great faculty. You will enjoy the collaboration between instructor and students.

    In three sentences

    Great School! Great Degree Programs! Awesome Staff! Prior military was able to complete my BS in three years.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sul Ross is a safe University well the only thing that one has to what out for is wild javelinas they are vicious little pigs.

    Great for these types of students

    Sul Ross is a great university for those who learn more with hands on experience.

    What to do for fun

    For fun well there isn't much to do in town but there are some things that one can do for fun on campus like going to the school gym and play soccer with friends or go to the campus swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad but it could be better because once you eat the same thing for half a semester food starts to get boring.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad the rooms are good but I think that the dorm walls should have some color and not just primer.

    Academic Rigor

    In general the clases are not hard if you pay atention in class and take notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes Take good notes Study Do you homework Ask for help if you need it

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great university for those who learn more with hands on rather than just reading books and listening to lectures. The classes are interesting and fun. There are many campus activities that are fun for students like bingo night were you could win a wii or even a ps3.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always patrolling the campus, I think it is very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs! And a very big variety of clubs!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the top of the mountain, there is a desk where every new student signs their name during orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think that Sul Ross is worth it. It's a university, and you're definitely not paying a university price. It's an affordable university/

    What to do for fun

    Behind the dorms there is a trail to hike the mountain, and there is a couple bars in town, and big bend is just an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best food, but it get the job done. There is a very nice salad bar, and you can make paninis and wraps.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not much of a partier, but there is the lobo where people go to have fun. And the dorms are nice! You get your own room, you just share a bathroom and a living room. Favorite part about campus for sure!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, if you study, and pay attention in class you should pass no problem. The teachers don't let you slide, you have to do your work to get the grade you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Comfy shoes!!! If you live in the dorms, you walk up hill! Comfy shoes is a must!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. The class sizes are small, so if needed you can get one on one help. There is also free tutoring, and the view isn't very bad either.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's is really close to absolutely no violence on campus or around the small town.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only athletic teams and basic scholastic clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Former small town residents who just plan on getting a degree and getting out. As well as socially inactive people who'd rather keep to themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions to tell about.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is really inexpensive, and really, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is nothing to do but maybe intramural sports and watching athletic teams perform.

    Food and Dining

    The food is halfway decent. However, because of lack of faculty and staff, the cafeteria was forced to use plastic dishes and silverware.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively large, but socially, people keep to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    One basically just has to show up to class in order to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find a college with more academic as well as athletic rigor.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is more of a school for athletes. In fact, if not for the athletes, this institution wouldn't have enough students to stay open. The town it's in is really small and boring unless you're used to living in such a place.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sul Ross arms the campus with armed police officers that circle around the school to keep up with safety for the students and staff. Alpine Texas also provides a strong police force, sorry for you speed demons, that stays contact with our campus police.

    Greek Life

    Sul Ross does not have a strong Greek life. There are no sorority or fraternity housing but you can join one as a club. You can find which one suits you best by your major or minor.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sul Ross is rich in a variety of clubs and activities a student can join. Activities and clubs can be found to intrigue future world leaders to dorm room gamers.

    Great for these types of students

    Sul Ross is great for the artistic student. Much of Alpine is filled with art galleries and showing from world know artists that come for the beautiful environment. This university provides strong criminal justice and educational programs as well as rodeo programs. Sul Ross is perfect for students that love nature and hiking and those students that are struggling to find their way in the world of greater education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sul Ross provides the community with museum of Big Bend located on campus. The older dorm room hall known as Fletcher Hall is said to house a ghost named Beverly who died in the late 1970's or 80's by either suicide or a professor trying to cover his tracks of a murder. The show A Haunting filmed in Fletcher hall this past summer(2012) and the show on Fletcher hall's ghost Beverly should be airing this November.

    Bang for the buck

    Sul Ross is definitely one of the cheapest schools you can find that provides exceptional student life and academics. With all the scholarships provided by Sul Ross and academic opportunities this University is well worth your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Sul Ross leadership organizations are constantly sponsoring various events for all students to attend. Including bingo nights, famous comedians, plays, and dorm room floor get together. Sul Ross also provides each dorm room floor with a media room and there is a room next to the cafeteria providing pool tables, video games, and ping pong as well as the rec center and the museum of Big Bend located on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Like many college campuses Sul Ross provides buffet styled meals. They do however hire their own cooks instead of having chain restaurants providing meals. they have four daily options as well as a salad and sandwich bar. The four options include a fast food line where you can watch hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos, and fries be made just for you. The second option is a homemade line where you can feel like you are back at home with your moms famous cooking. And the other two is a pizza line as well as homemade soups and breads. The quality of the food unfortunately depends on the chef, sometimes its very mediocre but others like on the holidays is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are newly remodeled and absolutely beautiful. At Sul Ross State you and your roomate will get your own bedrooms(very nice sized at that) share a large bathroom and recieve your own sinks and medicen cabnets. You also share a living room and small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, and counter space with your roommate. I feel like it more of an apartment living then dorm room living. The dorm staff is always available for you and does check on you every once in a while to help you out with anything for a tilted ceiling fan to installing new light bulbs. Oh and one of my favorite things is that the laundry room is never to far from your dorm and does not require quarters just bring your own detergents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Sul Ross challenge you without knocking you down. Of course each class and professor is different for the next, so your classroom work and difficulty will depend on the course and level of that course you are taking. One thing that is constant here at Sul Ross is that each professor loves their job and want you to succeed as far as you can. Sul Ross gives you every opportunity to make great grades and pass, you just have to be smart enough to take all of the chances given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sul Ross is definitely a place where you should never be afraid to challenge yourself. This university really works to give you only the best opportunities and the whole staff is behind every student wanting us to succeed. get to know your library and computer labs these are some amazing free tools that will be such a waste to you if you don't remember to use them. Wear comfortable shoes: the walk from one class to another or from dorm to classroom is not long but does require walking up and down hills and stairs due to the mountainous area.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is where students find themselves academically and socially. The small class sizes allow students to engage with their professors as well as their peers unlike many larger schools. The beauty of the Big Bend region surrounding the school is truly awe inspiring, this small town is a real breath of fresh air.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finding three desks that are hidden up on the mountain behind our campus.

    What to do for fun

    The greatest thing to do here for fun is to hang out with your friends and go dancing.

    Tips for prospective students

    To look for the fun, not to expect the fun to present itself right in front of them. To always go to the professor if you ever need help. There is always some one there to help you, your never alone.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable. The professors are always willing to help the students. It is a well rounded great university.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining room was nice, but I have not had a chance to eat there. But, they have many dining options for you.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I have not had a chance to see the dorms. But I have friends who share that they are comfortable, and a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor I met, to get a little more insight in my department, was very helpful. She told me what to expect, broke down what credits I need, and even helped me set up my fall semester schedule. I look forward to coming to her for help, and to share with her my college experience. They really care about you. They are really serious about helping you succeed, in whatever you want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending, good for you. You will be welcomed and accepted by every one on campus. They are all so friendly and helpful. I am excited about this school. The campus does look overwhelming, because you are used to your much smaller high school. But, it does have homey features, and is very inviting. I feel safe on campus, and you will too.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, open, large. The atmosphere is loving, uplifting, and welcoming. I look forward to attending, because I love the town and love the school.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fletcher hall where students gather to see the ghost of Beverly who had died in the late 1970's or 80's by either suicide or someone moved her body to look like an accident not sure how it happened but students get interested to know the truth about Beverly.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall to hang out with friends when you want to sit outside. Also go to the University Center to play games such as pool, ping pong, and xbox 360

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Sul Ross State University to earn a degree you applied for and come have fun with new students.

    In three sentences

    1. Fun for all students who are interested in welding or building things with own hands. 2. Library has the resources you need when it for hard work when your struggling. 3. SSS or Student Support Services are there to provide if you need financial aid or to help with homework.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who prefer the rodeo life such as cowboys and cowgirls and those who wish to focus on school.

    What to do for fun

    The things to do for fun at Sul Ross are playing volleyball in the sand pits, go swimming, go for hikes around the mountains, attend the school rodeos, go horseback riding in the arena and walk around the lovely town. Sul Ross is located in Alpine which has a small population but the community is very close so they always have fun events for the students to attend. For fun, students can also go to the bars with friends, attend the movies, play in the game rooms or go to the other small towns that surround Alpine.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to attend the University with a positive attitude and focus on the academics.

    In three sentences

    When it comes to the majors Sul Ross has a lot to offer and has an amazing Animal Science Program that I am currently in. Academics aren't the strongest there but the school offers a lot of help to the students such as one on one with the teachers and tutors. The athletics at the school could be improved by adding more programs and the food needs to be served fresh.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extracurricular activities to do.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a small town college

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    do your work

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions

    In three sentences

    The staff is extremely helpful in finding the right class to fit your needs. The environment in which students are surrounded with is so supportive. The best experience ever!!!!!

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    alpine is by far the safest city i have ever lived in. it is rumored that there are 5 law enforcement officers for each citizen in town because of the number of border patrol, state troopers, municipal officers, etc. in our area!

    Great for these types of students

    natural scientists, hikers, outdoorsmen/women, rodeo participants, adventurers, independent spirits

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we are built into a mountain called hancock hill where miles of trails go out like spider webs. see how many treasures you can find in secluded places...and look out for wildlife!

    Bang for the buck

    srsu is one of the most affordable universities in texas and it cannot be beat for the attention every student gets and the setting of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    as i mentioned before, alpine is best for people who love nature and want to learn more about desert life. we have access to one of the best national parks in the country as well as many equally beautiful state parks and natural areas. there are a number of live music and art events in alpine and neighboring marfa, so expect something a little different every time you venture out!

    Food and Dining

    unfortunately i have only heard (and thought) rather negative things about the food service here, mostly because the menus and seating areas are so limited. only one company manages the food and the selection gets pretty repetitive. however, it is run buffet-style so i guess you could try something different every day.

    Dorm Life

    all of my information on the dorms at srsu is obtained from word of mouth since i'm an off-campus grad student, but i can say that the buildings are fairly new (10 or so years old maybe) and much nicer than most dorms at big state schools.

    Academic Rigor

    i can really only speak for the graduate program of the business department, but what i hear from undergrads of all disciplines is that professors expect a lot of them and there don't seem to be very many pushovers. the geology, biology, and animal science departments are notoriously difficult but are known to prepare students for excellent jobs after graduation. for any students considering the business path, i can say that we have a wonderful faculty with much experience under their belts. our curriculum follows economics, marketing, finance, accounting, and management--all of which the professors have obtained professional and academic achievements. as with any major, some courses are more difficult than others but the good news is that forming teams and study groups is so easy here--everyone gets close very quickly!

    Tips for prospective students

    students who plan to attend srsu should plan for a big change if they hail from a large city; but the unique challenges and blessings of small town living make students bond together and enriches the whole experience of being here. so prepare to be without high-end shopping, vast entertainment options, and crowded streets. the second tip for prospective students is to be prepared for a lot of attention from professors. it is not uncommon for them to take the socratic approach, so come to class ready with answers and questions. a final tip for students coming to srsu is to be ready for wildly changing weather--it's quite unpredictable here in the chihuahuan desert! bring some outfits for all types of conditions and be ready to explore the beauty of far west texas.

    In three sentences

    after attending a large state school for my bachelor's degree, i can honestly say that going to a smaller university beats big schools on every level. the best benefit is that sul ross offers a low student-teacher ratio, which means the professors get to know their students well and students have access to instructors almost all the time. another wonderful perk about coming to srsu is that the campus is situated in a small town, which is perfect for outdoor buffs and those who want to get away and study with little distractions.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    being such a small campus, you get the feeling of safety and you're never left completely alone. there's always someone down the hall waiting to jump into action (our ras), and campus police patrol (we have law enforcement academy students and teachers all over the place luckily) that aren't oppressive but friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's an anime club, music club, biology and astronomy, and the black student association which hosts many of our activities, along with other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    teachers and law enforcement students are greatly welcome here. the campus and town itself are also largely focused on natural resource management and the animal sciences. it's also good for those students who enjoy small towns, great landscapes, open air, and a tight knit campus and community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a tradition i had the good fortune to participate in for the first time this year was the spirit walk up the bar-sr-bar mountain to sign the notebook and desk left at the top which students have been signing for many years, leaving their mark to be recorded and later saved.

    Bang for the buck

    sul ross is well known for having low tuition and fees. alpine itself is expanding its shops and places to buy commercial goods. it's a good place to go for a student fresh on their own. you can get your doctorate for relatively low costs concerning the bigger universities such as tech or ut.

    What to do for fun

    sul ross at alpine is nature based. we have trails to walk, hills and mountains to climb and hike, and the big bend right around the corner to visit. there are local joints that host special events for students and rangra night which gives free movie viewings to students on the first monday of every month. sul ross itself hosts its own special events such as open mic nights, bingo, game night, talent shows, comedians and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    i'm of the opinion that if i can't cook it, i certainly don't want to eat it 3 times a day. we are forced to buy a meal-plan if you stay on campus in the dorms. the dining also doesn't typically seem to really care about the students it is serving. they also don't let us leave the cafeteria which limits dining because of scheduling or work.

    Dorm Life

    ah, dorm life. i could do without it, to be honest. though our ras do try hard to get us involved. we don't typically have to deal with obnoxious dorm mates or disturbances. idea boards and fun topics are regularly posted in the halls to promote the sharing of opinions. we have a laundry mat on each floor along with a union room and study room complete with tvs, chairs, long tables and white boards.

    Academic Rigor

    i've seen some students that don't necessarily promote hope for the future of our country's intellectual and professional sector. however, i've also had to double-look when faced with a student who comes up with such intelligent and thought-out questions i automatically had respect for them. teachers in the freshmen courses typically just want kids to get by. the upper levels however strongly advocate academics and quality in work and thought.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. always ask questions if you're unsure about something, anything. 2. always plan ahead and take care of business. don't wait till the last minute. 3. make sure you apply for scholarships and financial aid as soon as possible. don't let any option pass you by! 4. cooperation is key; talk to your teachers, the financial aid department, career services and your fellow students! 5. if things get stressful and you're not sure what your next step will be, take a walk and take a breath, go talk to your ra or the counselors provided. they want to help you; it's not just their job but what they chose to do!

    In three sentences

    sul ross is an open and friendly campus that emphasizes the student-teacher relationship, maintaining the degree plan and ensuring that the student is accomplishing their goal. sully staff are friendly and helpful, rather than distant and unknown. there is a community feel here, where faculty and students come together to enjoy education.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wishing to focus on school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they repaint the Sul Ross logo on the mountain side. Paint gets everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    The Lobo. Lots of clubs and sports to join

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early

    In three sentences

    Small classes make it easier for one-on-one learning. Cheaper costs than most other universities. Great professors, its easy to follow the lecture

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to use a computer.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very reasonably priced.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed being a student, the professors are great.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot. A very good University.

  • 11/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because it's in a rural area, students who are accustomed to being removed from a city will likely feel more comfortable. Also, those who prefer to be in a smaller class setting will enjoy attending here.

    Bang for the buck

    Price-wise, you can't beat it. The tuition and fees are lower than almost any school in the state. They have better residential living than most DI schools and all for a lower price.

    Did enjoy being here

    Sul Ross is a special place and the community of Alpine value the connection between them and the University. There is always something going on and the community will take care of their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes made it easier to learn material and have quality discussions with professors and classmates.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great those who are becoming college freshmen. Students who want a great beginning with GPA. Those students that are very involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Average of 15 students per class or lower.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a small community, you know what is in here, going on, and there is a lot of activities going on in Sul Ross.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class size makes easy to learn, plus Instructors are very flexible to students!