Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

West Hills College-Lemoore Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/22/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excelente

    Greek Life

    Good

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a quiet school this is the perfect place for you

    Dorm Life

    Everybody is friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    You should work hard to get an A

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot the activities that you can do

    In three sentences

    I'm so gland to be here, the professors are awesome and the campus is cute and clean. The classes are super interesting

    Academic Rigor

    Its program is excellent

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know

    Food and Dining

    The food is so bad

  • 12/04/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can feel secure walking around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students who aren't ready to leave far away from home. Also, for those who like to live in small city or cities, like Lemoore, Hanford, Armona, Avenal.

    Bang for the buck

    Completing your associates degree is affordable. The majority who attend are eligible for financial aid, grants, loans, and scholarships. If you aren't able to receive any financial aid the cost of the courses isn't a fortune to pay.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs. If you're interested in art there's the Splash Art Club. Join sports, like soccer, basketball, and track.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a lot of options when it comes to what to eat. There is the snack bar and the bookstore, from where you can buy something to eat.Perhaps in the future there might be more with the construction and completion of the Student Union, coming soon. Also, the center of town, Lemoore, isn't far from the campus, in where you will find more options for eating.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to pass the class, if class uses the courses textbook be sure to purchase or rent it. Homework is not tough, its just time consuming. Tests are based on the course lectures, book, or assignment. Do all the work, you'll be ready for tests and quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to future students would be: if you have online classes try to log on to the West Hills portal at least once a day. Also, instructors are willing to help you if you have a personal issue and aren't able to attend class, communication is key, otherwise attend classes in order to pass the class. Talk to your instructor and meet up with your counselor to keep track of your progress.

    In three sentences

    West Hills College-Lemoore is a great school for those prospective students who live in the Hanford-Lemoore area and are not ready to go to a school far from home, easy to commute. The instructors and staff are there to help you when you need it. The school's environment is peaceful and you feel safe walking around the campus. They have the resources you need to succeed in your education.

  • 06/21/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While there isn't a high visibility of cops around campus that's because its a calm campus full of students who love the environment. It's a fairly safe school and I never saw a serious problem in the two years I attended.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life at this smaller campus but there are many great clubs and activities to choose from!

    Clubs and Activities

    As a newer campus, West Hills is growing larger every day. There are a variety of clubs to choose from as well as the option to start your own! Guest speakers often frequent the amazing new arena. I was fortunate enough to attend Lara Bush's speech in the arena and even get extra credit for a class. There is also community outreach and services connections to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a cheap way to get their general education out of the way. Transferring to another school from West Hills is relatively easy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While the school is being built, there are a lot of open spaces and fields. It's great for exercise and fresh air! As for unusual traditions the student will have to wait for the graduation ceremony to experience that fun one.

    Bang for the buck

    West Hills Community is not a terribly expensive college to attend. I think students get their monies worth as long as they put forth the effort. West Hills offers financial aid, work placement, and tutoring. Several seminars take place on how to complete financial aid and other fee waivers students may be able to qualify for. The Presidential Scholarship is linked to West Hills as well, which is an amazing scholarship for some qualifying high school students.

    What to do for fun

    This community college is on the outskirts of a small town so there is limited fun. There is an amazing movie theater nearby that plays all of the latest films. I recommend joining the clubs and activities to fill up spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Located in the center of the campus is a dining room that serves a variety of lunches and snacks. For those that are health conscious or have allergies its also possible to bring your own lunch and enjoy a nice picnic outdoors.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms located at West Hills College Lemoore but that doesn't mean they're aren't options. Lemoore is a small town and there are nice and affordable apartments near the school. Driving to the school is exceptionally easy and I didn't mind at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging without being impossible as long as the student is willing to put in the effort. Last year a bunch of new classes were added to the catalog as well so there is a variety of subjects to choose from for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should join clubs and participate in school activities. While West Hills may be a smaller school, it makes a noticeable effort to promote school pride and community outreach. Students should not hesitate to keep in touch with counselors and instructors as they have their best interest in mind. Talk to other students, ask them their opinions of the campus and student life to see if it is a good fit personally.

    In three sentences

    West Hills is a community college that makes the students feel they are truly a part of a community. This island of education supports its students and gives them the tools they need to get to their next step. Whatever you may be pursuing, West Hills lays a stable foundation for you to build upon.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard any issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen signs for a wide variety of places.

    Great for these types of students

    veterans, parents, students right out of highschool

    Bang for the buck

    Getting your associates is definitely affordable and manageable at this school. The area is not extremely active, but there are beautiful places within driving distance.

    What to do for fun

    You have to be willing to drive for most things.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't right around the corner, but if you have time to go into town there are all kinds of options.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure if Dorm life is even available.

    Academic Rigor

    Their goal is to get you into a four year college. The classes require a little work, but the teachers spell out what they expect from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an eye on your needed classes. I've heard several students complain about taking classes that they found out were unnecessary.

    In three sentences

    West Hills is a great starting point for an education, the school has individual programs for many of the specialty fields. The teachers are flexible and help when you have problems. Their major focus seems to be on helping students transfer to a four year college.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is a small selection on campus, but surrounding campus there are some nice restaurants that are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here. Most students live in nearby apartments or houses.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not a walk in the park. You must open your book and study. If you get a teacher with power point make a effort and download the lecture and use it for the base of your notes. Study from the lecture. I find if you start missing a couple of classes you fall behind easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be polite and show up for class on time. Email your teacher if you are running late are going to miss class.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college in a country setting, but is very welcoming and caring. You get to know the staff and other students easily. The college is up to date in the technology to allow the student to further advance their education.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    The have a lot of sports to do or games to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten there before

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They have a lot of classes and are easy to get in to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school with new buildings, beautiful campus and caring staff, West Hills would be the college to attend.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and secluded from a lot. It is way better that COS which is the other college I attend and the staff is wonderful. I feel safe on the campus and they have a lot of my classes

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus there are these blue emergency call boxes, I haven't used them but I hear they are indeed a great and useful device whenever you need help. Then of course your on campus security is more hands on any situation. If you need them, they will be there for you.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many different places to choose from you don't even know where to start! Fast food, to restaurant sit ins, to healthy, and organic so many choices for many personalities.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are no on school dorms, there are plenty of apartments that take in college students and that are willing to work with you. There is an apartment complex that I am more familiar with, and it is where mostly all of the student athletes live.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many, many, many educated instructors on campus that are willing to help out their students in everyway possible! With online access and our A.C.E. Lab here in the library and tutoring whenever you need it! There are so many options to choose from to make you a better student at West Hills Lemoore.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you care about your future this is the place to go too! As a Jr. college West Hills College Lemoore will get you anywhere you want to go. I highly push for students to go here because this school honestly cares so much about your future and what you are willing to do with it.

    In three sentences

    Small campus, easy to get around class to class. The sports program is awesome, and they know how to care of the student athletes on, and off the field. Instructors care! You are given not only class time but 24/7 access to any help online or here on campus with instructors, tutors, student tutors, and so much more!

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All we have is a small snack bar that serves pretty good food. You can also by snacky foods from the bookstore. There are also a few restaurants nearby that you can go to during your lunch break.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, the homework is not that hard. There may be a teacher that gives a lot of homework, and your next teacher may give you nothing. There are plenty of people to talk to about what teachers to take and what teachers to not take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. The staff are always looking to help you and want you to succeed. The library is a good place to meet up with other students and study, and you also get 200 free prints! There is a lot of space, and it may take a while to get across campus, but you learn how fast you have to go to get places.

    In three sentences

    I love West Hills College Lemoore! The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful; I feel as if I can go and talk to them about anything. I am very glad that I chose to go to a community college first, and especially glad that I chose West Hills College Lemoore.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great it very sporadic if a issue does come up.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately the college does not have fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    A good club that I recommend is Student Government Association, M.E.C.H.A, and Astronomy club. They club are very fun and distinct.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who like the small town feel. Also very relax campus life but has great things to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There actually are none.

    Bang for the buck

    This is very inexpensive for student who want to not was a lot of money but it great education.

    What to do for fun

    The have great clubs to join there are many to choose from. They have great

    Food and Dining

    The snack bar area is great but it is not so big.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm on campus but they try to make some dorms in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Class are decent there no to easy but their are not to arduous. The academic Rigor is best for student who need a little push to work harder for that four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    One MAJOR tip get into all the classes you need so you can transfer to a four year college if that your plan.

    In three sentences

    The college is small in a small community which new quiet. Students get more help from the instructor since the class sizes are small than a four college. Lastly it great if your on the budget or need a few units.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play golf or volleyball outside.

    Food and Dining

    Snack bar has great food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are pretty tough but they are also very understanding. The classes are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to walk through the grass! There are a lot of bugs that bite, and your feet will get wet. Also there is a lot of mud on the way to the gym so be careful.

    In three sentences

    West Hills in Lemoore has a great campus, and nice facilities. The library has a ton of computers and free WiFi which is amazing. Also the gym and snack bar are my favorite.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security boxes around campus, and cops regularly patrol. The campus is in its own area, so people don't really go there much.

    Greek Life

    There is none here

    Clubs and Activities

    While there are some great leadership clubs, and sports; they rarely make it to the public eye, and are largely unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a commuter school that offers great opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No odd traditions here

    Bang for the buck

    If you utilize this school properly, it really is a powerful tool, that can get you anywhere you want to go, but so few do.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy just laying in the grass of one of the large, open areas on campus and maybe reading a book or looking at the sky. There are many clubs, culinary events, sports events, and they host a variety of celebrity guests in their new event center such as Sarah Palin, and Barbara bush, along with many bands, and other events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a simple snack bar and store, but it hardly fits the needs of most students, and the prices are painful.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on West Hills Lemoore campus. It is a shame too, because it is probably the nicest part of lemoore.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely doable for anyone; at times, rigorous, but worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to plan ahead, and get everything in order to be sure which classes you will need to take for your major. I have seen a few people get set back because of failure to plan properly. The school counselors provide excellent guidance on this.

    In three sentences

    The school is full of friendly people and staff. The school has one of, if not the best campus of the California community college system. The classes are in depth, and rewarding.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing to fear.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of various clubs and organizations. Great! Fun and excellent way to make friends.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout in library, amphitheatre, snack bar, join student groups and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    On campus snack bar and bookstore with food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent material, great teachers presenting information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all resources offered on campus and on the school's site. Don't be afraid to stop by admin and see what they can do to help you, as well as the Career Center.

    In three sentences

    Amazing staff, campus, extracurricular activities, and classes. I enjoy being on campus and utilizing all the resources it has to offer. Definitely a great place to attend school.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security, maintenance guys, and emergency pillar all over campus! They're always there and make you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a student government which is always looking for new students. We have guess speakers and some really good entertainment and concerts. During welcome week, the presidents BBQ is a favorite.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are $46 per unit which will be covered with the BOG wavier. Your tuition will be free and all you have to worry about are books!

    Food and Dining

    There is a small snack bar and a couple of snacks in the snack bar. There are a couple of other places to go in town however your choices are limited.... pack a lunch!

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and do the work, things will be a lot easier for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes early! A lot of classes fill up fast so make sure you know what you need to take, add it to your preferred list, and registrar as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The administrators are really there to help you and get you in and out. The front desk ladies are really friendly and helpful as well. The college is really nice and clean with a brand new gym!

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown. Just Started

    Greek Life

    Unknown. Just Started

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown. Just Started

    Great for these types of students

    Unknown. Just Started

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown. Just Started

    Bang for the buck

    Unknown. Just Started

    Food and Dining

    Unknown. Just started

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. Live off Campus

    Academic Rigor

    Unknown. Just started

    In three sentences

    Very good customer service. Very clean areas. Very big campus

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the concerts that are offered through the college and take advantage of work shops that are available through the college as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a snack bar and the prices are mostly the same as if you go to a fast food place.

    Dorm Life

    I go to a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the instructors are very strict and not helpfull. There are also support staff in the financial office who are rude and not helpfull as well. The phone system is a joke and can hardly get through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that the college you are going to attend offer as much support as possible and that you ask a lot of questions regarding programs that are available to help you like financial aid and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    It is close to my residence so it makes it easier to attend. Evening classes are offered, so for us working people, that's a plus. The only negative is that tutoring is not available late in the evening so that doesn't help me much because I work and do not get off till late.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    A little advice that I can give for the expected students, is to come onto the college with a positive attitude and get as much help as you need. Do not get behind in any of your assignments and if you need help ask for it. By the way try to be to class on time.

    In three sentences

    West Hills College Lemoore is a great way to prepare you for a University College. The community college provides help for us students from the most presentable, well productive tutors. I give West Hills a thumbs up for the much needed help that I receive each day while I attend the school.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus seems to be in the middle of know where. fields surround the school.

    What to do for fun

    if you are currently enrolled in a program, there will be plenty of activities to do if you are the extra curriculum type.

    Food and Dining

    has a small snack place. have never ate there considering there are multiple fast food places around the school.

    Dorm Life

    west hills lemoore does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    currently in nursing program and at times yes it is very difficult. very time consuming and lots of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    its okay if you don't know what you want to major in. give yourself time and it will come to you. but do not let this delay you from going to college. begin your general ed as you are figuring this out. never give up, always try your hardest and know you can do it!

    In three sentences

    easy to enroll into classes. easy to get into a class. teachers are always available when needed and very helpful.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't seen much campus security but i do feel safe there

    Clubs and Activities

    we need more clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    not expensive, great instructors as i've mentioned before

    What to do for fun

    i think west hills should offer more diverse clubs

    Food and Dining

    i tend eat on the healthy side, not so much greasy food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms but i have heard they were planning on adding to some

    Academic Rigor

    courses are not too difficult if you put in the effort. it is college so expect it to be somewhat difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework and do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    the campus isn't too big so it's easy to find rooms or instructors. west hills also offers free parking to its students, which is a big plus. however, i do wish they offered a better variety on their snacks